My Reviews (18)

Spicy Cucumber and Peanut Salad

Garlic and chilli sauce add a spicy kick to a this easy cucumber salad with peanuts and spring onions.
Reviews (18)


11 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: DorthyEm
Tasty and spicy. I mostly followed the recipe except used 1/2 tablespoon of fresh coriander and a teaspoon of organic peanut butter (made from just peanuts) in the dressing instead of chopped peanuts because that's what I had. Next time I will use more of both: maybe a full tablespoon of fresh coriander and a tablespoon of peanut butter (if I don't have peanuts). The peanuts are an important part of the taste. We ate this as a side salad to burgers, and it was very good. I imagine it would also taste great on rice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: lutzflcat
Since most recipes tell you to saute garlic for about 30 seconds, I cut back on the time for fear that 5 minutes would turn the garlic bitter. No doubt about it, this salad does have a kick. If you're in the middle on spiciness, you may want to add half a tablespoon of the chili-garlic sauce, taste, and then add the rest if you feel you need it. Same comment applies to the addition of the red pepper flakes. This is a pretty nice Asian cuke salad, and I definitely liked the flavor of the coriander which is a spice I've not used often.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: Elizabeth Higgins
I added red onion, chicken, and cooked chow mein noodles. It's so good. The only problem was I didn't have enough for leftovers. I'm going to double it next time so I can enjoy it for lunch the next day as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: k.d.
Absolutely LOVE this salad! I used a combination of peanuts and about a tablespoon of peanut butter. I will make it again and again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: moaa
These were okay. It had a balance issue with it but didn't want to mess with it. I didn't have peanuts so that was the only ingredient missing and also altered the chili garlic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jul 2017
Reviewed by: Aultchr
I made it according to the recipe. The cucumbers were crisp and the Asian tang was a flavorful change from creamy dill cucumber salads. We had it with ribs and potato salad. My husband was not a fan of the Asian flavors and that is why I gave it a 4. He thought they were too much. So I happily get the leftovers!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 May 2017
Reviewed by: BOATERGIRL
Absolutely loved this! Added peanuts very last minute. Served this with Chef John's spicy shrimp cakes. Will be making this again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Apr 2017
Reviewed by: James
I added some pickled red onion and a drizzle of sesame oil. I love the influence of Asian flavors in this type of recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Apr 2017
Reviewed by: Nancy Talarico-Boraas
I usually use another recipe on this site for a similar salad, but I didn't have all the ingredients, so I made this one instead. I wouldn't change a thing. It was delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2017
Reviewed by: Angie46825
This is very tasty and refreshing! I added a drizzle of sesame oil to boost the Asian flavor even more.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes