My Reviews (39)

Warm Black Bean and Sweet Potato Salad

This spicy vegan black bean and sweet potato salad is tossed in a simple lime dressing creating a warm, colourful salad or side dish.
Reviews (39)


23 May 2016
Reviewed by: MARDEEN
We really enjoyed this both warm and cold. I added the onion to the potatoes in the oven during the last 15 minutes of roasting to soften it up. Make sure to roast your sweet potatoes until they get some color from caramelization.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Nov 2015
Reviewed by: ~*MyHotSouthernMess*~
This recipe is pretty basic but it is good. It (salt/pepper/cumin/cilantro/lime) can be adjusted based on the individuals taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2019
Reviewed by: wibblywobbly
Very versatile. Honestly I changed it a bit because of the things I had on hand (parsley, not cilantro; white not red onion; coconut not olive oil,pan roasted not oven roasted) but it still turned out great! I will try the original recipe in the future. (Also, adding a small dollop of Greek yogurt takes this to the next level if you don’t mind making it not vegan.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2019
Reviewed by: thereagors
I made this just as recipe called for and it was very good. the roasted sweet potato with the black bean was a nice combination of flavors. For best flavor ,make it the day before and the next day it is yummy
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2019
Reviewed by: Amaya
Great flavor! Love to serve this dish when we are having a taco dinner and vegan/vegetarian friends are over.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2019
Reviewed by: LMB
Delicious. I doubled the recipe and served it over greens, and it made a whole dinner for 4 people, with crescent rolls on the side. I topped the salad with avocado. Yum!! Went easy on the onions, and cooked the onions with the sweet potatoes for the last 10 min, and I highly recommend this. More cumin is also a good idea.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2019
Reviewed by: Chartreuse Pony
Simple to make, and I had all the ingredients in my house, which is amazing. I would recommend soaking the red onion in water before adding it, unless you really like the onion flavor to be the first taste. I served this over quinoa. Delicious and I would definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Dec 2018
Reviewed by: Ntennie
Simple, tasty, and healthy. I wanted to make something different for a potluck and chose this. The recipe turned out great. I omitted the chili flakes because my kids won't eat anything spicy. I also decided to add some zest from the limes, but probably won't do that in the future because it was a tad on the bitter side as a result. Overall, I thought it was excellent and I'll definitely keep this one in my collection.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Oct 2018
Reviewed by: Frosty Cat
As others suggested, I threw the onions in with the sweet potatoes for the last 5 minutes. I made it a day ahead for weekend guests. It was good though I think I might have liked it better warm or maybe with a different bean. The cold black beans didn't quite hit the mark for me but overall recipe is good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2018
Reviewed by: Marcy
I made it according to the recipe and it was delicious. The lime juice adds a nice zing, that plays well with the sweet potato and onion!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes