My Reviews (16)

Leftover Vegetable Soup

This filling soup is made with mince, tinned tomatoes and any leftover veggies you need to use up!
Reviews (16)


28 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Faith J. in Tennessee
Now that my kids are off to college and it's just hubby & me, we usually have leftovers when I cook. I've started freezing the leftover vegies in a 2-cup container just to use in this recipe! (When it's full, it's time to make this soup!) I've made this with lots of different ingredients (including leftover chicken, rice, pasta, etc.) and spices (i.e. - substitute Southwestern seasoning or Oregano & Basil) and it's always GREAT. We get at least two meals for two from this, plus several lunches. Also, the soup itself can be frozen!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Mar 2000
Reviewed by: JOEFUOTO
I found the recipe to be good and easy to make and it was enjoyed by all. Though it made a lot more than four servings more like 12.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
This surprized me--this was pretty good! I made a small change and cooked my bacon after I browned my meat, saved a little of the bacon grease and sauteed my celery, onion and a mess of minced garlic in the bacon grease before adding in the rest of the soup ingredients. I had no leftover vegetables on hand but I did have some cauliflower and broccoli that I needed to use so I added that to the soup. I also added a can of organic corn that I drained and rinsed and added to the soup, too. After tasting it, I threw in some more spice, only because I felt like it needed a little more. Very cheap to make and really super filling! Don't let the name fool you. NOTE: For those who like a heartier soup and don't like to waste leftovers from the rest of the week, save your leftover veggies in a ziplock bag in the freezer and just throw them in this soup. This also works with a cup or so of leftover mashed potatoes, too, which acts as a natural thickener.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: kristina
Very easy to throw together. I used the recipe as an outline and just threw a can of diced tomatoes, a lb of meat, some corn, red beans, carrots, and green beans, as well as onion, celery and green pepper into the pot, covered with water, and simmered for over 1hr. Turned out very good. Don't need the broth if you don't have it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Sherry Silveira
This is an excellent base for a recipe. I added cabbage, 1 can of black beans and 3 cups of V8 juice. I cooked it in the crock pot for 8 hours. Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: dizzy0416
This is a wonderful and simple recipe. I changed mine up thou....i added a can of tomato juice and some extra spices because i felt it didn't have enough taste or zing. The Family loved it and rated it as a "repeatable" recipe....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Linda Farrell
Browned beef with garlic and onion. Added 3 diced potatoes (6 was too much), can rotel tomatoes with green chilies, celery, broth, vegetables, rosemary, thyme, basil, bacon and water. Added more broth, some oregano and extra pepper. Tomorrow, the bacon will be soggy. Next time, I'll leave it out. We will keep our leftover veggies in the freezer for this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: lovinghappyhome
Made this as a comfort food for my ailing grandfather. Wouldn't you know, he perked right up I left out the bacon (just personal choice) and added some dry mustard. This is an old family recipe as well, but I haven't made it in soooo long. It was nice to make again Thanks for sharing it on here! It helped me out for sure xoxoxoxo
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Mar 2015
Reviewed by: Merlin08
did as other reviews said and brown the meat and onion together first. then added everything else and cooked for about a hour. sooooo good!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: LADYDUFFER
My husband is not a big soup person but I have made this soup twice in the past month and he loves it. I used to make beef stew in the crockpot but this is so much better, quicker and easier. This is our new family favorite.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes