My Reviews (9)

Venison with Blackberry Wine Sauce

Venison fillet steaks are pan-seared and served with a smooth blackberry and red wine sauce.
Reviews (9)


27 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Kimmy
I grilled the steaks because it was a beautiful night and I much prefer the meat grilled! I hadn't made this for a long time but now looking forward to summer to enjoy this more often!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: McKennacat
I braised the vension in some of the merlot to give it more flavor. I think this sauce is amazing, but it needs a little more so that there is enough for each steak. I used tenderlion pieces instead of steak and the meat was so tender with this sauce on top I fell in love.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: DIZ♥
I don’t make a lot of reduction sauces, so I really didn’t know what to expect given the fact that this recipe does not contain any herbs or spices. Suffice to say, it was fabulous! I did not have any blackberry jam, but I did have a bottle of Manischewitz Blackberry Wine. I used that in place of the red wine and thickened the sauce with cornstarch. Did not add salt, but seasoned with ground white pepper. This was good over the venison, but I can envision this sauce over a bacon wrapped filet Mignon and topped with sautéed mushrooms. Will be making this one again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: J.G.
Made this sauce exactly as written, including the cornstarch addition. None of the ingredients stole the show. The sauce was delicious over medium-rare grilled venison steaks. This is worthy of making for company.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: John Strickland
I chose to use fresh blackberries from Oregon state along with an Oregon based Pinot Noir "Firesteed" which has cherry and berry flavors to make the fruity blackberry pop even more.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2015
Reviewed by: Ray
I cut two back straps (whole tenderloin) in to thirds, salt/peppered them, and then grilled them medium rare. Cut them into medallions, put on a platter, drizzled a little of the sauce and garnished with blackberries. It was great and served 9. Next time, I may add a little chopped up chili pepper to the reduction for some heat. I probably added more jam than called for, but this was great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: RaquelDancho
Sauce was amazing. Seared the venison in butter, than simmered in wine, then wrapped and broiled it in maple bacon in the oven. Topped with sautéed mushrooms, sauce and berries. Served with potato wedges and arugula goat cheese salad. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: Stephanie Huston
What a great change. Even made it so that those that have always said, "I don't like venison." all of a sudden take a second look... and a second helping. That is a good thing with picky eaters!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: SweetSugar27
2-3 hrs not 4
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes