My Reviews (50)

Roasted Asparagus and Yellow Capsicum Salad

Roasted asparagus, red onion and yellow capsicum are tossed with a spicy mustard and garlic dressing.
Reviews (50)


26 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: gibsey23
I've made this recipe probably 10 times now & I don't think I've ever made it the same twice. I love that it's flexible & guests ALWAYS love it & comment on how pretty it is. I always make it at Thanksgiving w/ 1 yellow & 1 orange bell pepper & at Christmad w/ 2 red. Also, the bell peppers should be sliced, in my opinion. Also, I roast the asparagus & bell peppers seperately, as the peppers are mush by the time the asparagus is done. About 20 min on the asparagus w/ only a couple tbl. Olive oil, turning once 1/2 way through. Then, remove asparagus from pan, add peppers & a drizzle more oil. Roast 10 min, turning once. I add the oil/juice liquid left in the bottom of the pan to the dressing as well. I'm always changing the dressing & it's always been good, so feel free to play w/ the ingrediants. Also, you can buy pre-packaged Honey-roasted sliced almonds & they are a fab sub for plain sliced. When serving a lg crowd, I will often double the asparagus, w/o doubling the rest of the ingrediants & the proportions actually seem to be better that way & there'll be enough for 15 ppl to have small portions.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: yvsanchez
This is my new favorite summer salad. I used red bell peppers instead of yellow (they were on sale for .67 @ ) and it was spectacular!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Antron Hughes
Great dish! I brought this to our Summer Cookout at work and everyone raved over the dish asking for the recipes! I added orange peppers to give it more color as well. I would even add red ones to!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 May 2011
Reviewed by: chocchic
I made this for a church potluck and it was totally gone. Think someone may have licked the bowl. I normally don't appreciate reviews when the reviewers details all of the changes they made but I will mention that I omitted the nuts because of serving to a large group and instead added a few crushed croutons and it turned out great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Nathan Murray
This recipe is excellent. It is very tangy and full of different flavors. The alterations I made to the recipe was I replaced the dijon mustard with extra lime juice, used about half the amount of parmesan cheese, and served it hot instead of cold.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Deb Steeb
This was off-the-hook delicious! We grilled the asparagus instead of broil it, and wow, it was so good. After initially eating this, we saved the rest of it in the fridge for about a week. When we took it out, it was just as good, if not better as the first time around. Thanks for a tasty and different recipe, Kim!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Jason
The combination of flavors was pleasant, the only problem I had was that there was just too much oil. I don't love the taste of olive oil and would cut back as the whole salad ended up with a greasy texture. Very simple though and had a nice flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: 3mdlmom
WOW! What a nice surprise. When I served it, dear hubby thought it was warm but was pleasantly surprised that it was a cold salad. I used roasted pine nuts instead of almonds and that gave it a nice flavour. Also took the advice from a past review and used 2 TBSP Dijon Mustard insted of 3 and added Epicures Herb and Garlic Dip Mix (1tsp) to the dressing mix! Yummy! Roasted veggies for 18 minutes- they needed longer to soften and roast. Very good salad, have already told a friend about it!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 May 2009
Reviewed by: BARBERIC1
I also roasted the onions with the asparagus and peppers (I used yellow and red) and used pine nuts. I doubled the recipe, but could easily have halved the dressing. Delicious, different and very easy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: KJS
My husband and I both loved this salad. I roasted the onion with the other vegetables, and I used toasted pecans because it's what I had. I served it tossed with green leaf lettuce to make a very unusual salad. I only needed half of all that dressing though!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes