My Reviews (46)

Easter Devilled Eggs

This retro recipe gets a colourful boost that kids just love! They also make a change from chocolate eggs at Easter! Use any desired food colouring to tint the egg whites before filling. Keep a few plain ones on the side to keep everyone happy!
Reviews (46)


30 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: Paula
I wanted to make this recipe mainly for the colored egg part; however, I did scale it down and follow the recipe exactly. I hated the boiling method because it was a pain to get the shells off. My tried and true method never fails me, whether the eggs are fresh or old. So I will stick to that. I scaled the recipe down to try the filling and my husband said, "Where's the pickle relish?" I didn't think it was anything special either, so I made the rest according to my usual recipe with pickle relish and mayo. I had to double the food coloring to get the shade I wanted and it took about 15 minutes of soaking time. I think the colored deviled eggs will be a fun addition to the Easter dinner menu, especially for the Grands.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: lutzflcat
I did add just a little Worcestershire sauce and some vinegar to the filling, but that's just a personal taste preference. This is a fun way to style up Easter Eggs and turn an ordinary deviled egg into one with more eye appeal. Good idea Nancy Clancy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: rmburns
I've saved this recipe in my recipe box a while ago but I tried for the first time Saturday and boy am I glad I saved the recipe ~ The eggs came out so beautiful. I received a lot of rave over them ~ I thought this was a great idea from the start and now there will be other ladies in the church trying out this simple but great idea of a recipe ~ They're not just for Easter but can be used for gatherings such as baby showers, etc. Thank you Nancy Clancy for posting your recipe ~ Sincerely, Mrs. Robin Burns
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: Joan Biese
Very creative, and fun! I just recently found a way to hard-boil eggs without a water bath...STEAM them, instead! Start water up to boiling in a deep saucepot that has a steamer insert available (put the steamer insert in right away when you turn the stovetop on, as well as the lid for the pot). When the water is at a rapid boil, carefully (I use a long-handled spoon) place the raw eggs into the pot, cover with the lid, and steam for 6 minutes for soft-boiled, 12 minutes for hard boiled. The shells come off beautifully, even if the eggs are right from the henhouse that day! I also made sure to steep the whites in the food color bath for 15 minutes, and they turned out beautiful! We used some pastel liquid food coloring I had on hand...perfect for Easter!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: Brenda Hillman
These came out so pretty on a little Easter chick plate. I subbed mayo for the salad dressing just for personal taste. It was much easier to make than i had expected. Thank you very much for sharing. I'm sure i'll have these next year too. Lol and follow Nancy's advice......put some white ones in there too, the coloring is great but may not be for all of your guests. 8)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2014
Reviewed by: Shonuff
The family thought this was a great idea. All of the eggs went. They looked so pretty on the appetizer table. Thanks for such a great idea.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2018
Reviewed by: emleeruth
I did a little alteration, my sons birthday theme is "monsters" so I used sliced green and black olives on the top instead of paprika. Turned out amazing!!! Everyone loved them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Apr 2019
Reviewed by: Deb
I did this and absolutely loved how they turned out. Will keep this in mind every Spring and Easter!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Apr 2019
Reviewed by: AJPL
I used my own recipe for the filling, but made them into little chicks as explained in the instructions. They were darling and got lots of positive comments.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2019
Reviewed by: Mary C.
These eggs were easy and a hit at Easter. I did not add any hot spice because the kids were going to be eating them as well as the adults! They disappeared quickly!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes