My Reviews (280)

Slow Cooker Sesame Chicken

On very busy days, it is so nice to come home to this slow cooker sesame chicken dish! Serve over rice with steamed or stir-fried vegetables.
Reviews (280)


20 Jan 2016
Reviewed by: Amandabb
This was very easy to throw together and delicious. Followed the recipe except for adding minced garlic instead of garlic powder. I also coated my chicken pieces in the cornstarch then poured the sauce mixture on top. This method allows the sauce to thicken as it cooks so there is no need to remove the chicken and then thicken the sauce, it works perfectly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2015
Reviewed by: Tony
This recipe should be outlawed in every kitchen. OMG, I drank the leftover juices from the crock pot like it was soup. The second time I made it, I added vegetables to it, the possibilities of this recipe are endless. Thank you so much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Apr 2015
Reviewed by: Linda T
This was a nice dish. I did cut back on the honey by half and it was fine for me.. personal preference. I dont have dried onions so I used some fresh. Added red peppers and broccoli to finished dish. One thing, thickening the sauce in the crockpot didnt work.. never thickened for me so I did this on stovetop
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jul 2015
Reviewed by: lutzflcat
I read the reviews and made some adjustments. We're not into "sweet" these days, so I cut the honey in half (personal taste preference). I cooked on low, checked the crockpot at 2 hours, the chicken was cooked and tender, so I removed it from the crockpot and proceeded with thickening the sauce. The sauce was not thickened after 20 minutes, so I added a bit more cornstarch and finished it on the stovetop. I also added a little crushed red pepper flakes and a good squeeze of Sriracha sauce to kick up the heat just a bit. Finally, quickly sautéed some veggies and stirred in at the end. I'm not a huge fan of crock pot cooking, but this turned out pretty well, it certainly is easy, and keeps me out of the kitchen on this hot summer day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jun 2015
Reviewed by: Cindy W
A definite keeper!!!! Very easy to do and had all the ingredients at home! Followed the recipe pretty much as as written (changes were--->a little extra onion flakes, garlic powder and little less soy sauce). Husband, 21 year old son and myself loved it!!! None of us thought it was too sweet; as an onion lover, I think I'll put a bit more onion in next time. Chicken cooked in ~3 hours in my crock pot; sauce thickened up in about 5 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: slmerk
We liked this! For the sauce I did 1/2 cup honey, 1/4 cup + 2 tbls soy sauce, 1/4 cup ketchup & 1 tsp garlic powder. I used fresh diced onion and diced chicken breast. Cooked sauce, onion & chicken on high for 40 min then added 1 1/2 lb frozen broccoli for about 30 min and served over hot cooked white rice. The sauce was a little thin so next time I will thicken it but This ones a keeper! ??
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jun 2015
Reviewed by: ~*MyHotSouthernMess*~
This was very easy to put together and my kids devoured it but for my husband and myself it was only ok. In my opinion it was too sweet. I did sub fresh onion for dried minced onion. Cooking time will vary depending on your slow cooker. Personally mine cooks hot and was done faster than the 3-4 hours on low. I had no issues with the sauce thickening in the crockpot.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jun 2015
Reviewed by: Paula
Easy to put together and uses common pantry items I always have on hand. I served it over Uncle Ben's jasmine rice which cooked in 10 minutes. An easy and short night in the kitchen!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2015
Reviewed by: Chazbone
I love this recipe! I did find it a little too bland the first time that I made it, so I added less than a scant tablespoon of Chinese chili paste to it at the end, when I added the cornstarch and water. It really kicked it up a notch, and now it's perfect! It's now a "go-to" comfort food in my house. Going to make it again tomorrow.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2015
Reviewed by: edenb
This was not a favorite for our family. At the end of the cooking time, I tasted the sauce and it was...sweet. But nothing else. There was no depth of flavor, nothing interesting, and it was not delicious. Also, the chicken tasted dry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes