My Reviews (10)

Biryani with Marinated Chicken

Chicken marinated in yoghurt and rice scented with saffron, cardamom, cinnamon and cumin make this biryani full of flavour.
Reviews (10)


23 Feb 2019
Reviewed by: Douglas
Lots of steps... but really good!!! The rice flavor is subtle, but it is supposed to be. This is not a jump-right-out-atcha-Mexican dish~!! Flavors like coriander, saffron, and the like are subtle and aromatic. Delicious!!! Very similiar to the Biryani rice that was cooked for us by some of our Middle Eastern friends!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2019
Reviewed by: bearnessa
I really liked this recipe. I had to make some substitutions - that I would not do again. I didn't have fresh tomatoes, so I drained a can of diced. I wished I should have omitted the tomatoes because the flavor of the chicken was so lovely and the canned tomatoes was distracting. I thought I had Jasmine rice but only had long grain white rice. The Jasmine rice texture and flavor would have been much better. I substituted dried ground ginger for the fresh. I would do that again and the recipe didn't call for any salt and I did sprinkle the rice and the chicken with salt at the end. It was a hit with my husband and three kids age 11,14 and 16.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2018
Reviewed by: Mary Dillard
I will make it again. I love the recipes. Thanks so much for adding pleasure back to my cooking.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Aug 2018
Reviewed by: sarakitchen
wonderful techavia.org/
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2018
Reviewed by: kate
Unfortunately we did not like this recipe. There wasn’t enough flavor or sauce (I even added more seasoning because some other reviews mentioned it needing more). The rice recipe is good though. We absolutely love Indian food but this just wasn’t flavorful or saucey enough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2018
Reviewed by: rikuhouten
It was yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Feb 2018
Reviewed by: Windy Gonzalez
I thought this recipe was actually really good. It was fairly simple but had a lot of good flavor. The only thing I changed was to add more curry to it because I liked a little more spice. You also have to make sure that you're using good chicken to avoid it being too dry and chewy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Nov 2017
Reviewed by: bethb
I have never been a huge fan of Indian food. I thought this recipe looked great . The chicken was very tender after being marinaded in the yogurt sauce
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Nov 2017
Reviewed by: Emil Yanos
Everything was bland. Even though the chicken was marinating overnight, there wasn't any flavor. The rice was also bland and complicated, (it took 3 different container to make). I don't normally add salt when I cook. I like the flavor to be enhanced with lots of herbs and spices. This recipe had lots of spices but for some reason they did not come through. Needs some alterations.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Sep 2017
Reviewed by: Tightropewalker
This was wonderful! I did make just a few changes. I cut the chicken into cubes before marinating it and with the rise, I had to skip skip the cardamom because I didn't have any. The only other change I made was to make 4 cups of rice rather than six, and even that was a lot more rice than we needed for the chicken mixture. So the one recommendation I would make is to read deuce the amount of rice thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes