My Reviews (24)

Potato Salad with Vinaigrette

The vinaigrette dressing for this potato salad is made with beef consomme, tarragon vinegar and vegetable oil.
Reviews (24)


19 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: outrageoussally
I double the amount of consome, and add basil, thyme, a pinch of rosemary, and a good deal of capers. Great stuff!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2016
Reviewed by: CHRISTYJ
This is my recipe and I feel compelled to add a few words here. When totally different herbs, spices, vinegars and oils are used rather than what I submitted, it no longer resembles the original dish and is certainly no longer French. I'm sorry so many felt they had to change it. ChristyJ
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jul 2000
Reviewed by: OZARKSGAL3
This is a fairly quick and easy potato salid, altho the kids like a potato salid with a little more zip. This is great for an adult meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: EMILY052005
Delicious! I made half of the recipe and used 1/2 cup of chopped Vidalia Onions instead of the Green Onions (it was what I had on hand); however, it turned out great. Would make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: Kaye Spaude
I only needed about 1/2 of the dressing for my 9 medium red potatoes. I did not really care for this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
I thought this was a nice change from the usual potato salad. I added more seasonings plus some dillweed. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 May 2011
Reviewed by: Evie
We entertain outdoors a lot in the summer, and this has become one of our dishes that people look forward to. My husband absolutely prefers this over the mayonnaise and egg-laden version. It's extremely easy to make, we use small red potatoes or sometimes multi-colored fingerlings to jazz it up. Because it has no mayonnaise you don't have to worry about it sitting outside for a few hours. I typically make it with vegetable stock rather than the beef consomme so that it is truly vegetarian. Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: naples34102
A "not bad" adaptation of the classic. I preferred to peel and slice the potatoes into 1/4" slices before cooking, preferred olive oil over vegetable oil, white wine vinegar over tarragon vinegar and chicken broth over the beef consomme. I used all ingredients to taste - in amounts that looked right for the amount of potatoes I used. I used russet potatoes which are NOT the best choice for a recipe like this, but it's what I had on hand. A red potato, new potato or Yukon Gold is what's needed here and it would be good to specify that in the recipe. Best served at room temperature.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jul 2009
This was very good, with a few changes. I used wine vinegar and fresh tarragon, left out the consomme, added vidalia onion and roasted red pepper and a bit of dijon mustard. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: BUNNYGRRL
I made this several times when we members of a CSA to use up rocket, since I didn't know what else to do with it. I loved the exotic flavor it has, very continental. The mustard and vinegar blend perfectly with the rocket. If you're looking for a different potato salad, this is a great one to try.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes