My Reviews (138)

Fried Spinach with Garlic

Of all my various recipes, this is the one of our favourite ways to eat spinach. It is simple, requires very few ingredients and is easy and fast.
Reviews (138)


14 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Carol Hammond
It never ceases to amaze me how someone can change a recipe 10 ways to Sunday and then give a rating of 3 or 4 because it just wasn't right. Wise up, people! The first time you make the recipe follow it to the letter. THEN rate it and change it to your liking. This is an excellent recipe just as it stands.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Patricia Pool Gillogly
My family loves spinach this way; on occasion I have added bacon. Try after sauteing the garlic, turning off the heat and putting the spinach in the pan, covered, and let sit for a few minutes and it wilts perfectly without being overcooked. My kids ate it when they were small and I never had to doctor it or bribe them to eat their spinach; fresh spinach is the only way to go!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: JSlack
I have been making this at home for years, using olive oil instead of canola. I finish by adding salt and fresh ground pepper to taste, and a splash of balsamic vinagar. This is a tasty way to get our greens that even my husband loves.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Honey
Way to much oil and butter...I don't add the garlic, crushed or sliced, until some of the spinach has wilted down some so that the garlic doesn't burn...Also, add some fresh sliced mushrooms and lots of fresh cracked black pepper..be sure to use a very large frying pan so there is room to keep adding spinach as it starts to saute...Salt shouldn't be added until the very end...Sprinkle some parmesean cheese on top right before serving.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2005
After living in China (but eating this at a Japanese teppanyaki restaurant) we make this frequently, only I just use the chopped garlic from a jar, and we always add soy sauce. We add a tiny bit of water, put the lid on the wok and steam it for a few minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: EILISH40
As it stands I can only rate this 3 stars. Personally it is too greasy so here are my changes. Use only 1 tbls. each of butter and oil and add chicken broth to make up for quantities. Also crush the garlic rather than slicing. This is much more suited to my taste and also healthier.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: TYSGRANNY
Really great recipe. I added some crumbled bacon and roasted garlic almond accents after it was cooked and the flavor was great. My husband ate all of it the first night and requested it again the next evening. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: SHELLEYRG
I was afraid this dish was going to need some salt or additional flavor, but it was actually quite nice on its own. I also used jarred garlic and it worked just fine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: ISLANDGIRL05
Gave this a 4. I boiled the raw spinach in a pot first. Saw that on a cooking show once. That's the key...THEN you can saute it in whatever you desire. Came out alright. I used only 1 tbsp of oil (don't like mine too oily, added a dash of lemon juice, and minced garlic (yum!) But boil the leaves first...trust me it's gonna save this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: MARYJANE11
This is much lighter and milder than I expected. It can easily take on more flavors, but it's fine by itself.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes