My Reviews (60)

Chicken and Quinoa Salad

This dish is not only simple to make, but it also tastes fantastic! Chicken is stirred into a mixture of quinoa, vegetables and herbs. Enjoy for lunch, dinner or as a side.
Reviews (60)


04 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: vero
This was very tasty! Everyone in my house loved it, including my picky 7 yr old and father in law. My husband packed it for lunch and he said everyone kept complimenting the appearance and smell. I did not have fresh sage, I used ground sage. Before I realized I had that ground sage I had added thyme and rosemary as a substitute. Oh and I used olive oil since I had no coconut oil. We made this 2 weeks ago and we are making again today , but I will add more veggies. I would recommend this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: jess
Vegetarians can also enjoy this dish. Just sub veg stock for chicken. Once quinoa is cooked separate into two dishes so chicken can be added to one dish and the other, you can add whatever meat substitute you wish. I took on the suggestion of another reviewer and added chick peas to mine. Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Joan
I liked this recipe and I'm new at quinoa. I did add garlic powder, deleted the sage and replaced a bit of the water with cream of chicken soup (not condensed) while slightly increasing liquid to 2 1/4. Speaking as someone who is trying to like quinoa and hasn't fallen in love with previous recipes, this is one my teens and I would eat again. I was creamy like a risotto.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Krystina Cyr
This is good, though next time I'd add a bit more celery and stick with 3 carrots (2 wasn't enough for me). I didn't taste the coconut oil at all as one of the reviewers did- I did add a bit of soy sauce for added flavor though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2015
Reviewed by: sleepindawgs
is this best eaten hot, chilled or at room temperature?
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
08 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: WIKINITT
My husband put a little salt on the final product and said I don't know what you did to this but you made quinoa that I actually enjoy. I kept the shredded chicken on the side and used dried sage. A keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: TheGrandDuchess
As a vegan, I made a few changes to this recipe and prepared my chicken on the side for the meat eaters in my house. I diced some mushrooms and added that to the veg along with some garlic before I added vegetable stock and a little salt and pepper. This dish got rave reviews!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: KateinFuquay
Substituted the coconut oil for canola oil, but added 2 Tbsp coconut milk with the broth. Did not have Italian seasoning, so I used 11/2 tsp dried thyme, 1/4 tsp dried rosemary, and a pinch of red pepper flakes. Also, added the chicken before the long cooking period so it could absorb the herbs. Nice stew-type texture. Quinoa was helpful with my iron deficiency.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: njbunny
This was yummy! Loved it. Will definitely be making this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: Grace G
Needs more veggies but good flavor. Cooks quickly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes