My Reviews (60)

Chicken and Quinoa Salad

This dish is not only simple to make, but it also tastes fantastic! Chicken is stirred into a mixture of quinoa, vegetables and herbs. Enjoy for lunch, dinner or as a side.
Reviews (60)


20 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: bizzie
Yum! Make sure you rinse the quinoa before you cook it. I sauteed the veggies for 3 1/2 minutes, instead of 7. I didn't want them too over cooked. I didn't use sage, and I'm glad I didn't. Use some chicken thighs with this, it really makes a tastier dish. I cooked the chicken in veggie stock, saved the remaining liquid after they were done, and drizzled it into the pilaf with the chicken for the last step. It helped incorporate the chicken flavor through out, instead of just pilaf with some chicken stirred in. I did reduce it to 2 carrots instead of 3, and didn't notice a carrot shortage at all. I find that an initial rinse of quinoa in a pour spout measuring cup, then pouring it into a cheese cloth, making like a tennis ball shape with it, works fantasticly. Then I can strain it and squeeze it right under the water, it's very quick and effective. (I don't have a mesh screen) Just add a little more quinoa, to make up for what gets stuck in the cloth. Next time I'm going to add some curry, or maybe some coconut milk.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: kclarke5
Yum! This recipe was a real winner! I made it with olive oil instead of coconut, added sliced garlic, had only two carrots and omitted the chicken. It was hearty and flavourful. Next time I will try it with chicken.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Dana Nolletti Pierro
Exceptional for Quinoa! I'm not a huge fan of quinoa, but I like making it because it's extremely healthy for you. But, this is very tasty and my kids liked it too. I didn't use it as my main dish and I had to make a few changes. I didn't have any fresh celery so I used celery flakes. And I didn't have any Italian seasoning so I used Poultry seasoning. It was very good. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Duchess
I used light coconut milk and water instead of chicken broth. Added about 1 tsp of curry powder and a glove of garlic. Fantastic! Next time will add some coriander and/or cumin.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: kikimouse
This was so good! Like another reviewer, I'm a vegetarian and my husband loves chicken. I made the recipe as listed except that I didn't have celery so I subbed a little celery salt and I used mixed French herbs instead of Italian seasoning. At the end I put in cooked finely chopped chicken breast for hubby and the kids and chick peas for myself. It was so good, everyone ate it all up and I have a very fussy family. As a side note, coconut oil does not provide much flavor, I use it as a healthier alternative to vegetable oil when I don't want that bitterness that olive oil can add.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: mominml
I don't have coconut oil, so I just used canola oil. I also did not add the celery, but did throw in some diced zucchini when I added the chicken. This recipe was great tasting and healthy. You could really add a variety of veggies to your own preference. Will definitely make again - it makes a great weeknight dinner.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: joy-of-jesus-smileymom
The flavors just weren't right for me. Sorry. The coconut oil is an odd addition, and I didn't care for it in this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Renee
Thank you! I am a vegetarian and my husband does not believe a meal is complete without meat. This was a great recipe for us. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. Then, when the recipe called for meat, I split the dish in two - adding turkey to his portion and edamame to mine. Everyone was satisfied. Even my son who is just starting with table food liked this. : ) One other note - I did not have coconut oil so I used a citrus flavored olive oil - still great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Kris Munson
I've had some success, but more failures, cooking with quinoa. This was the BEST quinoa recipe I've tried so far! I replaced the coconut oil with olive oil, the onion with red onion, the celery with asparagus, and the fresh sage with dried sage. This was really tasty, and the picky men in my family actually liked it!!! This recipe could be easily used for a couple made up of a vegitarian and a carnivore, as the chicken could be thrown in at the last minute for the carnivore!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Laurie Parker
YUMMY!! I added poultry season to the boneless skinless chicken breast I used, diced and added corn, peas and carrots to it too. VERY GOOD!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes