My Reviews (1,142)

Quick and Almost Professional Buttercream Icing

This is our favourite creamy and fluffy buttercream icing that is perfect for piping and decorating. Tint with food colouring for any special occasion.
Reviews (1142)


25 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
Creamy and fluffy frosting, yet still perfect for piping/decorating. One recipe, however, was barely enough to frost ten cupcakes, so keep this in mind for any of your frosting or decorating needs. I used this for coconut cupcakes, so I flavored it with some coconut oil flavoring, then topped with toasted, shredded coconut. I would call this one of the more exceptional buttercream frosting recipes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: DP
I'm a novice cake decorator and this is the first time I've ever in my life reviewed a recipe, but I was so overjoyed I had to do it. I have been trying buttercream recipes for 4 months now, and it's been horrible. I wanted something that did not include the nasty shortening, and was easy to make. I didn't have any luck with any meringue buttercreams either, which just tasted like a big block of butter and requires refrigeration, re-whipping, etc. I was THRILLED to find this recipe! First I made the initial recipe as written, which was a small batch. Then I quadrupled the recipe to make 32 servings to frost/decorate a 9 x 13 layer cake. I found that it's EXTREMELY important to cream the softened butter for several minutes first, then I added the confectioners sugar (after sifting it first) a cup at a time until combined. Then added clear vanilla extract, and for the 4x recipe I only used 1 Tbsp skim milk. Then really important: continue to beat for another 4 minutes! Came out SO fluffy and light and snow white colored. Extremely easy to frost and pipe decorations. Got a nice crust as well. I had several "foodies" taste it and they gave it 2 thumbs up as well. THANK YOU!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: tahoegirl
awesome frosting. easy to decorate with. the only changes i made was that i melted the butter and added 2/3 cup of cocoa to make the frosting a chocolate flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: lovestohost
This is a great buttercream icing recipe. I followed it fairly closely, thought I did add extra vanilla, which then necessitated adding some extra 10X sugar to make up for the extra liquid. It does not make all that much, so I will prob double it when decorating a cake. It made enough for me to not-over-generously ice 18 cupcakes. Great taste and consistency. GO BULLDOGS! TY for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Emily
This icing recipe is my absolute favorite out of all that I've tried! I used it to pipe on decorations for my daughter's horse birthday cake. I needed to add almost 2/3 cup more powdered sugar to make it stiff enough to pipe on. To decorate a 9x13" cake, you will want to double the recipe. (Make sure you use clear vanilla if you want white icing.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: dizzygrltoo
This recipe is for REAL frosting not the garbage that comes from the store. I followed the recipe without changes. This was served with SCOTTLEY'S BASIC YELLOW CAKE and the filling from ALMOND CREAM-PUFF RING. My brother ate two pieces and took half of the rest of the cake home with him. I will never buy frosting again ever.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: DEB_RICHDE
This icing was just what I was looking for as I didnt really want to take the time to do boiling icing. Not too too sweet but very creamy. I will use this again. Alot of flavorings can be added to this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: SizzleCakes
This is so much better than store-bought icing! Just be sure to use real butter; it makes all the difference.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
This was the lightest fluffiest frosting I have ever made at home. It was as good as the bakeries use for sure! I used this for soft sugar cookies and it made them over-the-top great, but truly this would fabulous on a cake. I will have to remember this one the next time I need birthday cake frosting, this is that special. This dried perfectly for stacking decorated cookies too! Thanks, this is awesome!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: tcosta
this is a great recipe. i used it after i covered my cake with another recipe that really didnt work at all. this is the right consistency. you should put in the refrigerator before using so its hard.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes