My Reviews (77)

Farro Salad with Asparagus and Parmesan

The nutty flavour of farro grains balances with the salty Parmesan and tart cranberries in this tasty salad. Plan ahead, as the farro needs to soak overnight. It's a lovely salad for picnics.
Reviews (77)


13 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: crabbie
Great! I served this at my card club last week and it was the hit of the night! I made it with barley instead of farro and added tangerine sections for color. Everyone wanted the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2011
Reviewed by: D.A.M.
This salad is fantastic. I did not have time to do the 12 hour soak. I soaked the farro for 2 hours, the recipe turned out just fine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Joyce Poe
I used jasmine rice in place of farro. It needed a tsp or so of olive oil to keep the rice from sticking together, but it had a great look and flavor. The next time I threw in a few black beans for more protein, and that worked, as well. Great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Brenda
This was wonderful. I wish I could underline and bold that word. I made this for a family picnic. Yes, I did modify but it doesn't substantially alter the recipe. I only had Quinoa on hand so that replaced Farro. Truthfully, I'm betting cooked wheat berries would work too. The other modification was the walnuts. I replaced them with toasted sliced almonds due to a family food allergy. Also, I used a Red Apple Balsamic. I'm sure any type of good quality balsamic would be great. I forgot to take a picture but I will next time I make it. This is a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: saraseth
Loved it! I wasn't sure about the cranberries, but love the little sweetness it adds. I also didn't have time to soak for 12 hours, but it didn't seem to affect the delicousness! I skipped the parm cheese, and instead sprinkled a little goat cheese on...so so good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Barb the Bee
I was a bit hesitant about this, having never cooked or used farro. However, it was really delicious! The chewy, nutty texture of the cooked farro was wonderful. I plan to try it in other dishes. One caution: 2 cups of uncooked faro makes a whole lot of cooked grain! So be sure to check servings for this recipe - I wasn't serving a crowd and could have cut the recipe in half. As other reviewers did, substituted almonds for walnuts and as another Easter dish had asparagus, used haricots vert for the green veggie. Surprisingly good. Will share with others.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: BethDai
very lovely and clean flavors, great for summer. I used manchego in place of parmesean and a garlic herb balsamic vinaigrette
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: RuthieM
I am going to give this five stars although I have not tried it yet, it sounds very appealing! Farro is a wonderful grain and I hope those of you who have not tried it will do so! It can be found in a health food store, and if not found, I am sure it can be ordered for you. However, since I did that, I have found that it can be purchased from Amazon in a 3# bag for a more reasonable price per pound. http://www.amazon.com/Roland-Farro-3-lbs-Bag/dp/B0028VZEJQ/ref=sr_1_1?s=grocery&ie=UTF8&qid=1292004253&sr=1-1 However, I went to their website just now and found they are out of it at this time, but you can sign up to be notified when it does come in. I am sorry for the buildup and the let down!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2015
Reviewed by: DeaH
Trader Joe's has a great 10 minute farro. Less planning ahead!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 May 2011
Reviewed by: quickcook
This was really good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes