My Reviews (31)

Chocolate Covered Chips

For those that love sweet and salty combinations, this addictive treat is a must-try. Use plain salted chips and your favourite chocolate.
Reviews (31)


22 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Luke
I love this recipe, although the one I have is a little different. I use one 12oz bag of semi-sweet choc. chips and one 12oz bag milk choc. chips, with 1/4 block of para wax. The was does make the choc. not so thick, and it also helps keep them fresh/crunchy for a longer period of time!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Dragenflie
Good taste, but a bit frustrating, the chips tend to break apart easily if you don't use the larger thicker ones. My variation/remedy was to spread the chips on wax paper and then drizzle chocolate over the tops. Easier and less irritating.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: PONTIACGIRL71
I really liked the idea around this recipe - I've always loved chocolate and chips so this was a perfect union in my eyes! The only change I made was adding a little parawax to the chocolate so it wasn't so thick - it was easier to work with this way.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Christina
YUMMERS! I have been making these for years. I use pringles because they are more uniform in size and I'm anal that way. Also I half dip them and drizzle w/ white chocolate for a pretty presentation. If you like the combo of sweet and salty, you will LOVE these!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: JAMR28
Rigded/rippled chips are a must. I scraped off some of the chocolate with a spoon, otherwise it was too thick with chocolate. Don't make them too far ahead as the chips get soggy after a day or so. This really impresses everyone!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: chellebelle
I haven't tried potato chips this way, but pretzels are awesome! Easier to keep without breaking (if they last that long!) too. In a nice container, they make an unusual and tasty gift for the holidays or a hostess gift.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Annette P.
Just as good as the kind you buy in candy stores! I popped mine in the freezer about 5 mins to get them to dry quick. It was so warm in my house from the other baking going on!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: suesohio
This is a good recipe but I ended up microwaving my chocolate and I dipped half the chip in. It easier to handle. I then heated white chocolate and drizzeled that over the milk chocolate. They are very delicious. I stored mine in the frige to keep the chocolate nice and cold. Its a nice treat when you need that chocolate salty crunchy taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: ECHO1272
I made these exactly as written. It's a good 'launching point'...the flavor is good and it's pretty easy. My 3 stars is based on the recipe as written. The second time I made them, I did so based on what I learned from the first time: I used candy coating discs with just a handful of chocolate chips thrown in. Great flavor and they set up much firmer than straight chocolate chips. No need to worry about the temperature...just whisk and 'nuke' til fully melted. I used ridged Kettle chips. They're sturdier, hold up better to the chocolate and you actually get a potato chip flavor afterwards. I held an end of the chip, dipped all but about 1/4 of the chip into the chocolate, gently wiped the excess chocolate off on the side of the bowl, laid the chip on a cooling rack (laid over a jelly roll pan) and added just a SMALL pinch of popcorn salt across the top. We're huge fans of the salty/sweet combo and this is the 'icing on the cake' for that. Allowed them to 'set' and stored in an airtight container.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: strayredbolt
i microwaved the choc- 30 sec. stir- and then another 30- easy!!! taste was really good- not as fancy as i wanted it to look- next time i will drizzle the choc,
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes