My Reviews (126)

Easy Lemon Poke Cake

This is a moist lemony cake. It is called a poke cake because you poke holes in it to absorb the glaze. If you want, you can serve this with vanilla ice cream or whipped topping.
Reviews (126)


26 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: CHANDRA CARTER
All I can really say is this recipe is fantastic. When a recipe is so good I can't make it enough and my husband asks to make it then you know it is good. This recipe is so good that when I make it people take credit and say they made it beause of all the compliments that it gets. This recipe is also easy to make, which my kids can attest to, at 8 (boy) and 3(girl) they both run to the kitchen when I say I'm making lemon cake. There is no comparison for this moist, fluffy cake, once you've made it once you'll keep making it. Just a little clue to that, I made this cake for the first time in August and have made approximately 25 since then. Sometimes 3 cakes at one time. People have told me to stop teasing them with pieces and start making whole cakes when I share with them. Thanks again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: CATJENKINS
I only had a lemon cake mix, but it said it had pudding in the mix, so I followed the recipe as if it were already combined. It turned out light and fluffy. For the glaze, because so many said it was on the very sweet side, I squeezed enough for 1/2 cup of lemon juice, and added 2 tsp of stick butter for a smoothness. The family has given this an "awesome" rating, and insisted on it all summer long as the "perfect light desert. We had it the third night with crushed raspberries and a dollop of whipped cream for company, and the cake was still just perfect. Rave reviews from all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: MomTo6
Perfectly easy, fresh, lemony cake. I topped it with a lemony whipped cream topping (4 oz cream cheese, 1 c. powdered sugar, 1 c. cool whip, the juice of one lemon and 1 tsp lemon zest). We love lemon so I only use fresh squeezed lemon juice which I think makes a difference and I add a bit of lemon juice to the cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2009
Reviewed by: shelden
My family loves this cake. My recipe is just slightly different. Instead of lemon pudding mix, mine calls for dry lemon jello powder to be added to the batter. #2 son always asks for this cake for his birthday.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Kristina Howard
yuuuummy, I will be making this this summer, however, I do plan on making it in a bundt cake pan and adding strawberries and blueberries to go over top of it. It's def. a summer dessert. very light and fluffy. another option is to use a lemon cake mix and a vanilla pudding!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2011
way to sweet for my family's taste.......dont think I will be trying it again...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2003
Reviewed by: SREED1
This is a great recipe!!! I made it with Lemon cake mix and Vanilla pudding. Everyone loved it. It disappeared very quickly. I love lemon and am going to try it with Lemon pudding next.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: Terri
I didn't like this at all, and I love lemon anything.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: MYLITTLEBELLA
Like the other reviewer, I used lemon cake with vanilla pudding (except I did mine on accident)- and it turned out great. A tad on the "too sweet side," but delicious nontheless! = )
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: ann v.
I have made this many times, however I use lemon cake mix and 1 C of lemon juice. If you really like lemon use a full cup. Trust me it does not make it too soggy. Don't worry that the mix sizes don't match up with today's inflation, they work fine.I take this to pot lucks. It usually gets passed up until one person tries it ; within minutes it is gone. My most asked for recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes