My Reviews (286)

Kale, Quinoa and Avocado Salad

Kale, quinoa, red capsicum, cucumber, red onion, feta cheese and avocado are served with a homemade Dijon mustard and lemon vinaigrette in this brilliant salad. Steaming the kale removes some of the bitterness and the salad dressing ties all the flavours together beautifully.
Reviews (286)


15 Nov 2016
Reviewed by: Dorajo
I made this salad but just added a few other items to my liking and removed the cucumber. It was fabulous!!
 
07 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: KW
Huge hit even with the toddler. . Although he eats anything. Steamed the kale in the microwave: rinse kale (don't dry) drop in a microwave safe bowl and cover with Saran wrap, lifting a corner to vent. 30 seconds or so. Lovely taste and healthy too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: LizzyMcGizzy
This is amaaazzzinnggg!!! The flavor combination in this is brilliant! Avocado and feta and the occasional cool bite of cucumber or spicy red onion; the dijon and lemon is phenomenal! SOOO mouth-watering! Even my kids (four and 1.5 yrs) devoured this. I made a double batch, we were nibbling on it still warm from the quinoa. I DID keep the kale raw, to retain nutrients. I massaged and kneaded the torn up leaves with a bit of salt; and put some of them in a large plastic bag and let my kids fling it around. This is soo soo soooo delicious!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: ChefsDaughter143
This was a great salad! Don't be scared of the kale. I made a half batch and sent it for lunch for my husband and myself. We both were pleasantly surprised by the great flavors in this dish. The dressing is a great complement to all of the ingredients. In the end, you barely even taste the kale, but you do reap all of the benefits of eating it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jun 2013
Reviewed by: gr8dzire
This was an amazing and very healthy salad. Loved it! I have been asked for the recipe many times so it has been a hit with my company also. I have made it many times and have just done a couple of changes. I substitute chicken broth instead of the water to cook the quinoa in. I add cherry tomatoes cut in half to the salad and I add a little more lemon and 1 clove of garlic finely chopped to the dressing. Thank you for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: grampnana
Nice to see this healthy recipe here - so good. Really dislike seeing people rate a recipe even though they don't even like the main ingredient - and chose to make it even with that ingredient the lead in the title! Really a head scratcher. . .
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: emergingsynergy
This was deservedly a real hit at the potluck dinner. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I put more avocado (the one I used was smallish, so I used a whole one). People wished I had more dressing, but all seemed to like it. I sure did! Specifically, I was complimented on how the avocado and the feta cheese added key flavors.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jun 2013
Reviewed by: moviegrl26
This was so delicious! Thank you for sharing, Stephanie! I made it last night for the first time. I couldn't use a whole bunch of kale (it wouldn't fit in the pot), but it was more than enough for the two of us. I also steamed the kale a big longer, but before it was mushy. Also, since I don't like feta cheese, I substituted gorgonzola, which was still tasty. Next time I'll use a whole avocado and add more of the bell pepper and cucumber. Can't wait to make this recipe again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: laurielo
I tried this recipe and multiplied it times 5 for a group - I made a few changes and have just sent the recipe to everyone because they loved it! Instead of the red pepper, I used chopped grape tomatoes - I have a food sensitivity to peppers. Instead of serving the quinoa and veggies on top of the kale, I mixed the kale in with the quinoa and veggies (except the tomato and avocado) and 1/2 of the dressing and refrigerated overnight so all the flavors would meld. In the morning, I added the tomato and avocado and the remainder of the dressing - it was more like a cold pasta or potato salad type salad. It was amazing!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: Andrea
One of my favorite vegetable recipes so far. I didn't have avocado but it came out great without it. Had mango on the side and it was a nice compliment.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes