My Reviews (126)

Gluten Free Banana Cake

For those of us who can't have gluten, try this banana bread for a treat with tea. I like to use maple syrup instead of adding so much sugar. This mixture will make 1 loaf or 24 muffins.
Reviews (126)


25 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Nichele
Good ! You can replace the sugar with a bit of honey and also add vanilla extract.Texture is good and you can play around with different types of G/F flour mixtures and still get a tasty result...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: southerncook
This bread was moist, fluffy, flavorful, everything a bread should be. I just used whatever GF flour I had on hand, some all purpose flour, and it was wonderful. I followed directions EXACTLY. I think that's important. I'm going on a trip in a few days, and I'm baking 2 dozen of these to take with and share. This does NOT taste gluten free. It doesn't rise up as much as wheat based muffins, so go ahead and fill the cups pretty full. It took 30 min to cook the muffins, 45-50 min to cook the bread. I sprayed the pan very thoroughly, as GF stuff tends to stick. Again, everything was perfect. The bread did not fall apart, or have a dense texture like most gf breads. Remember what yummy wheat-based muffins were like? Well you will. My next adventure is to try the recipe and replace the bananas with pumpkin!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Dina
Excellent! I skipped the sugar and only used 2 tbsp of maple syrup. I only had 5 bananas. The bread was sweet (but not overly sweet) and moist. My mother couldn't even tell that it was gluten-free and my children both loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 May 2011
Reviewed by: Jill Connelly
The taste and texture were excellent. However, it took 60 minutes to bake through. (I used a bread loaf pan)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2013
Reviewed by: Marie Jensen
I have made several gluten-free breads/cakes since going gluten-free January 2013. It takes some research and practice to get the right combination of flours. I used the gf flour recipe that already has xanthan gum in it but not all gf flour mixtures do. Read the label if you buy a pre-made mix. Xanthan gum or guar gum are absolutely necessary in this recipe. When adding the flour to the wet mixture, mix for at least a few minutes with an electric mixer, not just until mixed like the recipe says. That gets the flours/gum to work together better. I used 1/2 cup granulated sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar in place of the turbinado and syrup. Creamed those for several minutes with margarine and 2 tsp vanilla then added eggs and 6 medium very ripe bananas. My muffins were done in 20 minutes and raised pretty well. I got 18 out of this recipe. I am very happy with how they turned out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: LisaLew2
Terrific recipe. I did not have 6 ripe bananas (only 4) so I added some fresh, sliced strawberries to the mix. I also added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp clove and nutmeg, and 1 tsp vanilla. Very easy to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: JacquiB
This was a very good recipe. Missing something, cinnamon perhaps. I used 1 1/2 cups white rice flour and 1/2 cup flax meal and this seemed to work quite well. I also added chocolate chips and made muffins instead of a loaf. The batter made 15 muffins which I baked for 30 min. I would use this recipe again, but tweak it next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 May 2011
Reviewed by: mamahill
I used White Rice Flour and this was soooo good!!!! Took about 1 hour to cook.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: smassaro
Recipe could have used some basic info such as "sift dry ingredients together" (obvious, I know, but still) and how many cups 6 bananas should equal, since bananas vary in size. The bigger problem is that the muffins barely rose and took 45 minutes to cook (brand new oven, worked fine with other recipes), not 15. In addition, they weren't very flavorful. The texture was nice, and I liked that it didn't call for xanthan gum like most other gluten free recipes, so I'll probably try again with some tweaks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: gcimental
I am not gluten free, however as one of jehovah's Witnesses I have very dear friends that are. Each assembly I bake a variety of cookies for the friends and this year I baked 4 different cookies or bars. Two were gf recipes and 2 were converted from my old recipes. All 4 were considered very good. At that i found this recipe and made the bread last night which I shared this morning in the ministry. One and all were very excited and loved what I did. This bread was wonderful as gluten free, and very creamy. Thank you
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes