My Reviews (628)

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

Make the most of asparagus season by cooking a bunch of fresh spears gently in a delicious and simple garlic butter until perfectly tender. Ideal as a side dish or starter to a variety of spring meals.
Reviews (628)


05 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Karen
I saute asparagus all the time, but to make this recipie into a 5* I use olive oil that will not burn so easily, a tbsp. of balsamic vinegar and a tbsp. of minced garlic and don't cover it as it'll get soggy. I use a teflon frying pan and stir fry/toss it for 3 - 4 minutes. When it's ready, I sprinkle with fresh grated parmasen cheese, salt and pepper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: JWUKID
The recipe is all right however it forgets to address one major focal point of vegetable cookery. Now of course this is an option and not required however I would first blanch the asparagus because sauteed asparagus has an unattractive brown tint to it. To blanch; bring a pot of water to a boil and season with salt. Prep a large mixing bowl(size varies on quantity) fill with ice and cold water. Place asparagus in boiling water for about a minute then remove and put in ice. Let it sit for a few minutes and then remove, pat dry - then saute. Good Luck & more importantly have fun.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Christi Checca
With a few minor tweaks this recipe is a total winner. There's no need for 3 tablespoons of butter. 1 and a half was just fine... just enough to coat the asparagus. Also, the cooking time was a bit long. If you like asparagus a bit more firm and crisp, I would reduce the cooking time to about 7 minutes. 10 made it a little too mushy. But I will and have made this many times over
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Virginia
This is so good! The only way I cook asparagus now! It is a helpful hint though: don't leave the asparagus while its cooking! Depending on how thick it is, it could be done rather quickly. Instead, rely on the color: a minute or two after it turns bright bright green and right before it starts to brown is when it is perfect (we like ours semi-crisp). I also add a splash of white wine maybe 1 1/2 minutes before it's done.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: MysVineyard
I use olive oil in lieu of butter/margarine and, to make it a little quicker/easier, I use garlic from a jar and a dash of sea salt to really bring out the flavor! One of my favs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: love2eat
easy and tasty way to prepare asparagus. I like the change from steamed. However, a tip when you saute asparagus that wasn't mentioned in the recipe - the smaller (thinner) the stalk the better it is for sauteing. Larger stalks are better suited for steaming. And 10 minutes I found much too long, since the butter needs to heat up quite high to saute I think 10 minutes would of burned it or the garlic. I sauted for 5 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: CHERRY007
Used olive oil instead of butter. Chopped asparagus into bite-sized pieces and added a handful of shrimp to the mix. Served with pasta. Quick. Easy. Delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Michel
I added some White Wine & followed everyhting else to the letter. My guests raved all night about this recipe. Thanks. This is truly divine
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: JAGGEDLNS
This is how I fix green beans. It never occurred to me to try it with asparagus. Thank you. This was outstanding.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Momof2
This review is from hubby. I do not like asparagus so I couldn't touch the stuff. On the other hand, hubby ate the entire bunch. He loved it. Thanks for the post.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes