My Reviews (9)

Mexican Oxtail Soup

This beef soup is jam-packed full of flavour. Stewing steak is simmered with oxtail, vegetables, lentils and rice. It's the perfect winter soup to be enjoyed all year long.
Reviews (9)


24 May 2010
Reviewed by: DIXLYN
It's a little bit difficult for me to really rate this recipe truthfully since I changed it quite a bit. I was trying to make a soup from ingredients I had in my house and oxtail isn't one of my common grocery items. So I used about two pounds of stewing meat and a pound of ground beef. I also added significantly more cumin (since I love it) and a little more chili powder. I also added cooking sherry and garlic (both chopped and powdered). I also used beef broth instead of boullion and then used less water. Everyone that tried it loved it. However, if I was to make it again I would cook the rice separately and add it to the bowl first and put the soup on top. With the rice cooked in the soup, it made the bottom of the soup rather solid and the leftovers were more like stew. A yummy trick that I was taught in Ecuador (and works well in a soup like this) is squeeze some lemon into the soup in the bowl as you serve it and sprinkle with finely chopped green onion.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2010
Reviewed by: Trailrider
I enjoyed this recipe. The only substitutions I made were, I cut a beef chuck roast into bite size pieces in place of the cube steak, added a clove of garlic & 1 tsp of dill weed. Great family fare.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Cece
Instead of 30 minutes on the stove top, cook the oxtail & beef in a slow cooker for 2 hours on Hi or until ithey are very tender. (it's almost impossible to overcook oxtails) Also the onion and celery because they add great favor to the meat. Add 3 garlic pegs. I also cooked the rice separate and added on the side when serving. Great Soup!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2016
Reviewed by: Jstack
My husband always orders the oxtail soup from a local restaurant and asked me to find a comparable one. This one is a little heartier, but he was happy with it. I made this as written with the exception that I didn't add in frozen vegetables or corn on the cob. It turned out to be really good, especially when you squeeze a little lime in it! It's a perfect soup to warm you up in the winter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2015
Reviewed by: Elizabeth
Great! I adjust the seasonings to our taste. I didn't add lentils or the frozen veggies. I also like to serve the rice on the side so everyone can add as much or as little as they want. I serve it with tortillas, lime wedges and cilantro! Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Mar 2019
Reviewed by: Francisco Garay
Like abuelita used to make. I altered this version subtracting the rice, lentils and frozen veggies. I added cilantro and didn't have corn which is kind of a signature staple in this traditional soup but it was delicious and it's one of my usual dishes. I can make this soup in my sleep.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2017
Reviewed by: Ada_Girl!
It's a great starter recipe for what I needed to be closer to the Mexican Caldo that I was craving and not the one that is on the site. You'll need more water, I don't like to add frozen veggies, lentils or rice. I do however, cook a mexican rice separately and drop a scoop in the individual bowl as I'm serving. Lovely with a few sprigs of cilantro when you add the cabbage. I also like 1 or 2 bay leaves. I added a handful of cut fresh green beens because my mom used to. She sometimes used beef shank instead of oxtails. But I love it with oxtails! Thank you for the inspiration...the weather is perfect for it. This is comfort food for Mexican-raised families like chili is to Texans and other southerners. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Oct 2017
I grew up eating this soup, it is one of my favorite comfort meals. Only we don't use frozen mixed veggies, lentils, or rice in our oxtail soup. We make it just like Caldo de Rez. It's a very hearty soup and one that won't disappoint you in flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Apr 2016
Reviewed by: cyndikins
This is my FAVORITE SOUP EVER!!! Its almost like my own recipe. I made a lot and froze in small container's for those late nights when I don't have any energy to cook.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes