My Reviews (132)

Mexican Cheese Stuffed Capsicum

Also known as rellenos, this dish is simply delicious. Roast red capsicum are stuffed with cheese then battered, pan-fried and served with a tomato based sauce and a dollop of sour cream. Enjoy with freshly cooked rice.
Reviews (132)


02 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: ellie may
Oh, it is me again, Ellie May! I LOVE this recipe, it is a pain to do it all right but SO worth it! If you are going to do 4 chiles, go ahead and do 8-12, depending on size; eggwhites in the original recipe will allow for this. I make this 2-5 times a year, but mostly when Hatch, NM chiles are in harvest. We roast 20-40 lbs. of green chiles on our grill then freeze them, setting aside BIG fleshy/straight ones for this recipe so we can cook these all year. Best tip: cheese/flour them on all sides and freeze individually on cookie sheets. Once they are frozen, dump in a freezer bag so you can finish anytime in the winter when fresh isn't available. Cover again w/flour right before dipping in eggwhite then frying. I cook them slightly frozen so the cheese won't melt in the frying pan! I usually cook the sauce and only put in the food processor AFTER cooking it all together, so it will be smooth. And I save THAT too, in a freezerbag! When defrosting sauce, I may add fresh lime juice, or other spices to spark it up. MOST IMPORTANT, make sure egg whites are ROOM TEMP before whipping, and oil in frying pan is so hot in an iron skillet, that it is SCARY! Stay on top of it and turn with tongs; drain oil off on paper towels. Serve with sour cream and/or avocados for those that cannot take the heat, plus some hot sauce from MEXICO to keep authentic for those who want more! Nothing is better with this than a slice of lime, and a Negro Modelo Beer in a frosty glass. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 May 2010
Reviewed by: *Fat~Dog~Lane*
I use the side of a spoon to scrape/remove the charred skin from the chilis & it works great without tearing the soft chili! Be sure your oil is hot when you start to batter the chilis so you can lay them directly into the pan. The batter is kinda delicate, treat it gently :o) You can also remove the 1 egg yolk completely & just use the egg whites...I like it either way. Have fun!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Janlyn
This is an excellent recipe: very clearly written with step by step directions that won't let you fail. And the final dish??? Superb and very authentic. It's not a super difficult recipe, but will take some time and probably suited for at least the intermediate cook. But definetly try this one. Make your sauce while the chiles sit for a bit in the freezer. I usually tweek recipes that I read, and the only thing I did differently here was to use long cubes of mexican melting cheese (queso quesadilla) instead of the shredded mix, because that is what I had in the frig. But really, I wouldn't change a thing. This recipe is PERFECT!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 May 2011
Reviewed by: laurmoore
Great recipe! Don't pass this up because of the length of the ingredient list (you will have most of them in your cupboard) or the length of instructions. They are just very detailed so the recipe is fool proof. Not that it isn't time consuming; I will be taking the advice to make the peppers ahead of time and freezing them to cut down on prep time the day of. Worth the effort!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Kim
THIS RECIPE IS FABULOUS! I have made it at least seven times and it comes out perfectly. The red sauce is so tasty, I always double the recipe on the sauce so I can use it in other recipes during the week! I also have added some ricotta to the cheese/stuffing mixture to help hold it all together. I have also found success in using a deep bowl to batter the chilis before fryiing, dipping the chili all the way in and using a spoon to drege the batter up the chili. Try this recipe, you won't be disappointed!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: MIKALA79
The sauce for this recipe is outstanding! I love the warmth that the touch of cinnamon brings to it. I made the recipe exactly as written and it was awesome. the only thing I would change next time would be to switch up the filling - but that's just personal preference. it does take a bit of time, but this recipe is a great one!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: moekitten
I eat this at nearly every Mexican restaurant we go to, and this recipe was excellent! Although it took quite awhile to prepare, it was worth it. The fluffy egg white batter made a nice, thick and crispy crust. The freezer part was really smart because of the type of batter; it would have been hard to coat the peppers if they were soft. I used some quesdilla and cotija cheese that I had on hand, but it did not melt very well, after just 5 minutes of frying on each side, so perhaps I will deep-fry next time as someone suggested. I was too worried to leave them frying longer because I wanted to keep the light golden brown crust. Zapped leftovers in the microwave the second day, and still good. Served with some red beans and rice on the side to round out the meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: jo ann
My husband would order Chiles Rellenos every time we went to any Mexican resturaunt. After tasting "mine"... this recipe...we no longer have to go OUT for his favorite dish. I will stage peppers frozen so they can be cooked at any notice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Stacia Frase
these were good. i was worried about the cheese oozing out. As long as you pat the batter on thick, all is well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: vkyboo
My family loved these! Although time-consuming, I thought they were worth it. I'll be making these again, and actually plan to make the sauce for topping enchiladas. Yummy sauce
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes