My Reviews (149)

Mexican Pork Stew

This authentic Mexican recipe is absolutely delicious. It's easy to make, not too spicy and everyone will love you for it. Serve with Spanish rice and warm tortillas for a substantial meal.
Reviews (149)


15 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: naples34102
Delicious, with wonderfully complex but balanced flavors. All the ingredients and seasonings come together and mellow into something uniquely its own. I loved the ingredients that went into this stew, loved making it, and Hubs and I certainly loved eating it! As all cooks should do, I seasoned this "to taste," upping the cumin to probably a couple of teaspoons, substituting Mexican oregano for the marjoram (have never used it!), backing off on the pepper to probably a teaspoon (you can always add it but you can't take it back out!) and subbing two, fresh poblano peppers for the canned green chilies - first, because I love 'em and second, because they're easier on Hubs' sensitive innards. Wanting to make sure the meat was good and tender, I simmered this for a good hour and a half - and it WAS buttery tender. This is intensely aromatic as it cooks, letting you know that what you're in for will be well worth the wait! I served this over plain white rice, with a dollop of sour cream, but I could easily see this wrapped in a tortilla too (that will be coming up with the leftovers!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: PLATO712
UPDATE TO MY RECIPE: I've been substituting 1 cup chicken broth vs. the 1 cup water! YUMMM!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Nina V
What a great recipe! I've made this several times and love it. One tip - I find that it tastes even better the day after it's made. When I make it for guests, I make it the day beforehand which not only makes it taste better, but also makes the day of entertaining much easier. I serve it with cilantro rice and tortillas. This is definitely a keeper recipe.... Thanks so much for submitting!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Dave Bushman
I added a few touches, and it's now on my monthley menu. 4 cloves garlic, 1 tsp. marjoram, 1 tsp. Mexican oregano, 2 tsps. cumin, made the sour cream and cilantro sprigs optional as I have dried for the stew, and served it w/ frijoles con queso (refried beans and cheese) heated, and warm flour tortillas.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah
Yum! I used 2lbs of pork instead of 3, chicken broth instead of water, and oregano instead of marjoram, since that's what I had on hand, didn't change the rest of the amounts called for, and the recipe came out a tiny bit tart, but the supporting flavors were perfect. The tartness is due to the tomatillos I'm sure, which I'm not used to cooking with. Still, so delicious! I will definitely make this again. I used 2 tsp cumin, and since I had a 4oz can of diced green chiles, I left a little bit of seeds in when I diced up the jalapenos. I served this on top of rice, with tortillas on the side and our leftovers will be burritos. So good! Thank you for a wonderful recipe. **Update: I made this with 2 cans of diced tomatoes, drained (instead of tomatillos) and it was delicious! Highly recommended!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2010
Reviewed by: hal and carol
We live in Tucson and love to cook Mexican food. I did this on the outdoor kitchen, grilling the meat first and used boneless country style ribs..it was fantastic with tortillas, they ate it all!! 5 stars
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Boston cook
Excellent recipe!! I followed the recipe except for the cumin...I added 2 tsp, and the diced green chilis...I used 2 seven oz. cans. I also used 3 chopped serranos instead of the Jalapenos. Other than that, I stuck to the recipe. It turned out amazingly well. Stir it quite often while simmering or it will stick to the bottom of your pot. Thanks for posting Plato. We will enjoy this stew over and over again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Tiffany
I made this for my girlfriend last night and she loved it but next time we do this, we are going to try adding an extra can of green chiles to the recipes for extra bite and absolutely add jalapeno. As toppers if putting on tortillas: Diced Tomato Diced Green Onion Shredded Monterrey Jack Cheese Steamed Rice Sour Cream Lime Wedges to squeeze on finished product
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Joe
This was great. I had never really had anything like it before. It was more work than the types of things I normally cook, but it was well worth it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Sharon Dooley Rogers
this is incredible!! just delicious and my Mexican son-in-law thought I only could cook Irish and Italian! thanks Mr. Plato!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes