My Reviews (32)

Caribbean Inspired Nachos

This recipe combines spicy, sweet and salty flavours for a delicious twist on nachos. Chicken can be used instead of prawns if desired.
Reviews (32)


01 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: katzy
I have made this twice in the last two weeks for different events. Every one loved it! It is a very unusual combination, and it presents beautifully! I just microwaved the Jerk sauce and I coated both shrimp and the pineapple with the sauce. I also used shredded pepper jack chees as a reviewer below suggested. My father in law said it was the best appetizer he has ever had, and he has dined in some of the top restaurants in the country!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2013
Reviewed by: Sherri
The many reviews that added black beans sounded pretty good and I wanted it to be filling, because it was our dinner. Since my shrimp was raw and large, I cut it in more bite sized pieces, put the pineapple pieces in the cooking sauce first until they were tender, mixed in the drained black beans and then added in my shrimp until it was just starting to turn pink. I then drained the liquid off very well in a strainer, and spread that over the veggie mixture. A trick I've learned to keep your nachos from being soggy is to put most the shredded cheese on top of the chips, then top with the veggies since they need the heat to cook, and putting a thick layer of cheese on top of all your veggies traps the moisture and chips soak it up. Throw more cheese on the top the last minute or so of cooking until it all melts. Your chips stay crunchy. My son said this was the best nachos he's ever had, and he is 25 and eats out a lot with friends. Both my husband and I thought is was a fun summer meal, and it was very filling. All this covered a 15X10 pan, and half of a second pan...so it makes a lot.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Cloud9
Fantastic nachos. Made as directed even though I was apprehensive of all the bell peppers and onions. Perfect amount of ingredients and wonderful blend of flavors! Thanks for sharing. I served it with Planter's Punch...equal amounts of Myers rum, oj and pineapple juice and splash of grenadine. YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Jill Cournoyer Twombly
In the midst of watching the Pats game and eating these nachos. Everyone loves them, a great twist on a game-time favorite. Used the smallest shrimp I could find (salad shrimp) and they are just the right size. Don't know if we'll have room for the half-time pizza!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: herzeleid
These were the most amazing food ever! We regularly eat nachos as a dinner meal and are going to add this recipe to our regularly made dishes. Since there are just two of us...this recipe was too much. So, we will cut the recipe in half next time. We cook the peppers, onion, pineapple and shrimp all together in the jerk sauce. This really improves the flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: chefmama
Wonderful recipe. I used jerk chicken instead of shrimp. It was a success and even the kids loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2014
Reviewed by: fj62
"Filling" SUPER tasty but think it would be soooo much better in taco shells, maybe even a quesadilla- the tortilla chips just didn't do it justice!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Nov 2014
Reviewed by: shaun.turbeville
These are wonderful! I wouldn't make it with avacodo because they get old quick and it doesn't make for good leftovers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: Merrah1
I think it was pretty good, but I love salsa with my nachos. Think next time I'm going to add a twist and try it with mango salsa! A must try recipe overall!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2014
Reviewed by: Shay
Today was my first time cooking this and my family absolutely loved it... I didn't use shrimp because not everyone in my family like shrimp so I used chicken. But the blends of the different flavors are great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes