My Reviews (62)

Baked Brie Parcel with Caramelised Onions and Apples

This gorgeous puff pastry parcel is filled with gooey Brie and sweet caramelised apples and onions. An elegant but easy starter for any affair.
Reviews (62)


09 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: DEANNEGRALER
I made individual bakes bries. I bought the already made mini puffed pastry shells (freezer section), put about a Tablespoon of brie in each, then topped with about 1 teaspoon of the onion mixture and one piece of roasted garlic on each, baked them on a cookie sheet for about 6 minutes at 350. I bought a jar of the already peeled garlic, tossed them in a little olive oil and a pinch of salt then roasted them in a foil pocket at 400 for 20 minutes
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Annette P.
Awesome recipe! I made it for a Christmas Eve dinner and everyone was quite impressed with it, though it was SO easy. I didn't bother with the apples, I didn't want a 'sweet' brie recipe. Some 'brie-newbies' might wonder about what to do about the rind. All a personal preference thing. I personally think the texture is a little gross, so I don't eat it. Some will argue that the rind is where the best flavor is. What I did was cut the top rind from it and leave the rest, that way I could easily scoop the tasty inner cheese from it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 May 2007
Reviewed by: joyful
I made a very similar version of this recipe last night and took it to a ladies get-together. My recipe varied a bit although its hard to go wrong with these ingredients. I cut a 15 oz round of brie in half horizontally, topped with a few tablespoons of apricot preserves, then topped that with carmelized onions mixed with roasted chopped walnuts. Then I added the second half of the brie and used the same toppings (apricot, onion/walnuts). I didn't use as much butter when I carmelized the onions - only about 2 Tbs - and I cooked them very slowly for about 15 minutes before adding a spoonful of sugar and letting them cook covered for 10 more minutes and adding the walnuts. I also used thawed Phyllo dough (4 sheets brushed with butter) to wrap the brie. I served this with sliced baguette bread and crackers, with sliced Asian pears on the side. Yummm.. this was met with rave reviews!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2005
Reviewed by: CLAIRESUTER
Made this for a neighborhood picnic yesterday. Only change was phyllo for puff pastry because I had it on hand. I got great reviews from all the neighbors! The appples did not add anything to the flavor, so next time I will just use 2 onions (or more.) The roasted garlic was a yummy addition, though! Will make again, VERY easy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: devonb
Excellent baked Brie. The Granny Smith apples give a nice tartness that softens the sweet roasted garlic. The only changes that I made was that I used shallots instead of onions. It provides a more delicate flavor that doesn't over-power the apples and garlic. I also added the roasted garlic with the apple and shallot on top of the Brie instead of as a garnish. This combination enhances the wonderful flavor of the Brie. Try it; you won't be disappointed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: phantomfemmmme
I made two different baked brie recipes and found that combining the two resulted in fireworks! I caramelized onions with butter, thyme, white wine and sugar. DELICIOUS! Next, I cut the brie wheel in half length-wise and put the caramelized onions in between. I put the two halves back together and then wrapped in puff pastry. I messed up by not making sure the puff pastry was sealed as the brie leaked out. Pinch those sides tight!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Crabbcakes
I made this for a party, and first nobody touched it. Once someone cut into it, it disappeared fast! The onion/apple combo is awesome. I served with Wheat Thins. Excellent!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: SUNSHN
I have made this multiple times now and it is an absolute hit with everyone! No need for any garnish and simplifies the recipe immensely. Serve with good, whole wheat crackers. The best!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: MrsRPM
This was OUTSTANDING!! Made for NYE and it was a big hit! Omitted the apples (had none!) and had to use crescent roll dough. But I did cut the brie round in half horizontally and placed the onions and garlic on half, then topped with the other half. Wrapped tightly with the dough and baked for 20 mins. Perfect!! A great appy with crackers! Would have loved to have served it with jalapeno jelly, but didn't have that either! Thanks for a great post!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Janis Dee
Very tasty indeed. I made this during the holidays and served it with french bread crisps and it dissapeared in no time. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes