My Reviews (52)

Paleo Slow Cooker Pork Loin

This recipe is true paleo goodness. The pork loin is cooked in the slow cooker getting a deep rich flavour.
Reviews (52)


01 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: MonoOmoi
This is absolutely phenomenal. Best pork roast I've ever had or made! A few notes - I used fresh squeezed orange juice, about 1/4 cup chicken broth instead of bouillon, dried cherries instead of raisins, and skipped the starch. It probably came out a bit more "broth-y" than the original recipe intends, but it was still fantastic! Also, another reviewer mentioned it was too salty for their taste - my husband and I did not notice the salt at all, but perhaps using chicken broth instead of bouillon mitigated the salt content.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: LadyB
We tried this dish today. I wanted to love it. It has a lot of flavors that I adore. However, my husband and I agree that the recipe came out far too salty. Furthermore, the balance between the fruit taste and the curry was not properly balanced. If we try this again, I will definitely add more raisins and possibly more apple. I would also remove the salt from the ingredient list.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Baking Nana
I was looking for a recipe that had all the ingredients in the house and this one fit the bill. I was a little hesitant about 3 Tablespoons of Curry - but no worries this was awesome. I didn't have potato starch so I used a litttle bit of cornstarch mixed with cold water but didn't thicken the sauce until the meat was done. I served this with Jasmine rice and steamed green beans. Hubby says that this is "Meat and Potato" guy approved. I will be making this again, for sure. As a side note I used a 4 quart slow cooker and there was more than enough room maybe even a little bit big for this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: Imaged1
I would give this a 5 star but as the recipe is, (Very good) it is still missing a little pazzaz. So I have made this 3 times now and have decided with a little tweaking of the original recipe it could get a 5 star from me. This is what I think helps but everyone has a different prefernce, so see what you think: I doubled all the ingredients and only added 1/2 pound more pork. I added 1/2 of a can of chunked Pineapple and the Pineapple juice in the can I mixed with the Orange Juice. I didn't add the water with potatoe starch because I prefer it more soupy and think the juices seep into the pork better when it is thinner liquid. I also am using dried cranberries as well as the raisins. The cranberries actually have better flavor and is more complimentary to the recipe. I also used sweetened coconut flakes instead of unsweetened. This is the only Paleo recipe I could find on this site and I was thrilled! Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: NEVADA753
I was surprised how well this turned out and will make again. Reading the reviews I was worried there wouldn't be enough flavor so I added a little more cinn. extra apple and doubled the curry and added about 1/2 tsp of garam masala, and 2 whole cloves and 2 bay leaves and tangerine juice because its what i had. After cooking 4 hours I plucked an orange from my tree and added a tsp of the zest. I did not add coconut but planned to add coconut milk if it needed it, but it didn't in my opinion. I just used pork chops what was on sale at the store,and cut them up. Very tender sweet and spicy-really delicious- economical- healthy and EASY. Can make sauce thick by adding cornstarch and cold water together at end of cooking but I liked it soupy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: merlion
I must first confess... I inadvertently tweaked this recipe quite a bit, although I don't think I changed the taste much. I only have a bunch of cuties on hand, so I peeled them, and just threw them in the pot (and mashed them up in the pot), didn't have an apple, so used applesauce instead. Didn't have raisins so used dates and didn't like coconut, so omitted them. Didn't have a slow cooker, so just cooked them in a pot for slightly under an hour. Last thing, added frozen broccoli in towards the end of the cooking time. I actually enjoy the taste (without the coconut) very much and the orange pulp made the potato starch redundant. Such an easy but yummy meal to make!! Would be doing this often from now on!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Deanna Hann
Thanks really enjoyed this recipe, I followed it pretty closely except I used a couple of tbsp of Indian seasoning mix I had and cornstarch instead of potato starch. I will definately be making this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: SusanSauers
Really really excellent just the way it is.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: drmardicooks
We gfound this a bit bland. Next time I would add 1/2 c to 1 c. spicy curried peach chutney or some spicy fruit chutney of some type
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Steelydale
I tried, and I really wanted to like it. Very bland, imo. Could have used some pineapple (fresh) perhaps, or something else. It's edible, but I wouldnt make it again, sorry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes