My Reviews (26)

Chinese Takeaway Curry Sauce

I wanted to make my own Chinese curry sauce to stop myself spending a fortune at my local takeaway. It turned out really well! I served it over grilled chicken breasts with rice and peas on the side. I bet it's good over oven chips!
Reviews (26)


14 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: madbetty
was absolutely delicious....i cooked it without the treacle.... it waas so easy to make definatle gonna cook it again
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
15 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: HelenHutter
This was an amazing substitute for a takeaway chinese curry...... until the cream went in. I left the onions chunky, added finely sliced chilli (I love it spicy!), and squirted in a little honey instead of the treacle, but everything else I kept the same. I will make again but definitely without the addition of cream (although it wasn't horrible with it, just not at all a takeaway curry)
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
16 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: meemee
we all loved it and we did use the treacle but you couldn't taste it
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
31 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: Sessyjane
Just made this tonight, it was lovely, just like a takeaway. I didn't add the cream as wanted a low calorie version and added a bit more curry powder as we like it hot! Thank you for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
11 Nov 2014
Reviewed by: GeorgeTilling
Nice but added just one droplet of Doomsday Chilli Extract from Grimreaper foods for a kick in the gonads
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
18 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: Spangles
Really simple recipe. To make even more authentic quarter a small to medium onion and separate segments, half some button mushrooms and grab a good handful of frozen peas. Pop them into the sauce 5-10 mins prior to serving up. I have tried with and without treacle and haven't really noticed the difference?? I have also used with and without cream, tends to thicken rather than add flavour. All in all this is the closest, I believe, to getting from the takeaway and is just as quick. Perfect with rice or chips, oh and don't forget the prawn crackers!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
29 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: Lisa19393
I am doing slimming world so left out the cream and treacle and used flora light!! 6 syns for whole dish and served at least 3 with rice!! Really really nice. Better than the takeaway!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
24 Oct 2015
Reviewed by: coysforever81
You couldn't find an easier recipe...Its on the money tho.I added two heaped tablespoons of hot curry powder just for extra kick and sliced red chilli and two diced tomatoes..I didn't bother with the treacle or cream.๐Ÿ˜…
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
02 Jul 2015
Reviewed by: SuzanneLovett
Lovely. Would recommend this recipe. Didn't add cream or treacle but did add a tsp of garam masala.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
05 Aug 2017
Reviewed by: Timbseed
No Treacle or cream, chilli powder added...brilliant!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes