My Reviews (37)

Caipirinha

Brazil's national cocktail, so refreshing and delicious! Cachaca is a sugar cane liquor you can get at the bottle store.
Reviews (37)


10 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: Debora
As a Brazilian myself, I prepare Caipirinha in a slightly different way: the ingredients are still the same (although you can substitute the cachaça for dark rum - it will then be called "Caipirissima"). You should crush the sliced lime (unpeeled, please!) and the sugar in a glass, mix in the cachaça (or rum) and a few ice cubes. As for the comments on using either limes or lemons, I can assure you that what is sold in the US as lime is exactly what Brazilians call "limão Tahiti". So, go with the lime!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: KBOOP
Being a Brazilian myself, I must say that our original recipe for Caipirinha takes lemon (Tahiti lemon), not lime. One more hint: I know this could be hard for you to find in the USA, but try using the artesanal Cachaça, not the industrial one. If you have more than a few drinks, the industrial Cachaça (Velho Barreiro, Ypioca, 51) will probably give you a headache and a hangover the next day. A good quality Cachaça (artesanal), won't! Cheers from Brazil!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: Isabella Vasconcelos
This drink is stunning, and believe me being brazilian myself I can assure you that caipirinha is made with lime and not lemon!!! Shame on the brazilians who said it's made with lemon
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: Alejito
as a Scotsman who has been to Brasil on many occasions- here is my take - 1. Yes limes only please. 2. Cane sugar only, unrefined if possible. 3. Im sure its great with pineapple and many other things but then it aint a Caiparinha. 4. No matter how good the cachaca, or how well you follow the recipe or how good the company is - it'll never ever ever taste the same as it does in a bar anywhere in Brasil with the samba music blaring and the beautiful multicultural crazy clientel all around you - so do yourself a favour and go visit the most beautiful, hospitable and downright loco country in the world! and Yes Scotland runs a very close second- we just don't get the weather
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: RLNANCE
What a terrific cocktail. No driving afterward, though! it is potent...superfine sugar makes it even better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: anasofia
This drink tastes like heaven in a hot summer afternoon.. but you need three ou four teaspoons of sugar, a inch of pineaple juice and the ice should be crushed.. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: jhawk2003
Add an extra teaspoon of sugar. I make double batches and muddle the sugar and lime.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: VRAMOS
Being Brazilian I do assure you that Caipirinha is just great! I agree with the other reviewer who said that one should use lemmon instead of lime. Also, it would be better to use cachaça but there is a variation of this drink with vodka( it's called caipivodka) that is also quite nice. If you want to do something diferent you can use other fruits as well ( here it is quite common to use it also done with passion fruit). Cheers!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 May 2012
Reviewed by: rruegg
Nothing beats this on a hot day! I was in Rio for 10 days last year and had caipirinhas at a dozen different locations. Never saw a lemon. They were ALWAYS made with lime.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: Floyd_Rock
Way too little sugar in this recipe. I use a rounded tablespoon. You want enough sugar to saturate the mix. There should be a little granulated sugar at the bottom of the glass once it is all stirred together. Sugar should be ground into the lime. I use a mortar & pestle. You want to bruise the peel of the lime to bring out the zest. I pour the lime and sugar into a glass with crushed ice, rinse the mortar with cachaca, and stir it into the glass. Wow! Best ingredients? As one reviewer says, good cachaca. Brazilian limes, way better than those I get in the States. And, O Samba.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes