My Reviews (100)

Easy Osso Bucco

Some osso bucco recipes can get quite complex but this one is very simple. It takes a while but that's mostly just simmering time.
Reviews (100)


05 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: MSROOTZ
Excellent flavor. I used beef broth for the water though and also about a half cup of wine. This is fantastic over polenta!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 May 2006
Reviewed by: Miss Tracy
I am a private chef and a vegetarian. I have meat eating clients and have to make them certain things that I cannot taste. A few weeks ago one client suggest that I make her and her husband Osso Buco for dinner. I said "no problem" Having no idea how to make this I figured I would check on here for some suggestions. This recipe for Osso Buco turned out to be one of their favorite meals. They asked me if I had been making this my entire life!! I was thrilled!! Thank you for the recipe! It was a hit!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: FRED NIELSON
I love this recipe. I have made it many times. It isn't all that time consuming. If you do your brasing in a crockpot it requires little attention. You'll want to make risotto Milanese to go along with it, and add a robust red wine. Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: DANAAMCMILLAN
I doubled this recipe for 2 families totalling 7 people and we pretty much inhaled the whole thing! It was very good. Served it with Risotto and fresh bread to sop up the juices. Because I doubled the recipe I didn't have a stove-top pan large enough, so I cooked it in a roasting pan in the oven. Before putting the cover on the roasting pan I added a layer of foil to keep all the moisture in. I will be keeping this one in the ol' recipe box!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Greta
This is a fantastic recipe. I had never made Osso Buco before but had often seen the cut of meat at the butchers. I made it to take to a family dinner as my contribution and it was a hit of the night. I did make a risotto to go with it and can definitely recommend pairing the two. It was the hit of the night with everyone asking me for the recipe. Making it again this weekend for a different group of people as I feel confident it will be a success. I only changed one thing, I didn't have all the herbs separately so used pre-mixed Italian herbs from a jar, but used the same quantity as recipe stated. Worked perfectly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Patrick
When my wife and I paid a visit to Boston last year we went to a place named Mama Marias. It is here that I tried Osso Buco for the first of many times, thanks to Amy's recipe. Any time I invite guests for dinner they request this delicious meal. I serve with Roasted garlic Mashed potatoes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: SMMMSWIMMER
I combined this recipe with one that I already had. I used two 14 ounce cans of diced tomatoes and doubled the veal amount and also used the crockpot for the braising. Outstanding.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: SSchuettenhelm
This was amazing! I unfortunately didn't have any thyme but it still tasted great. I also changed the veal to lamb shank and I added beef broth instead of water since I figured that would add more flavor. Anyway, thank you very much for the recipe and I think that next time I will double it like another reader stated since it's a very long process to make it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: DINNER123
This recipe is so delicious it tastes like a restaurant prepared dish. It is time consuming and does take a long time to cook so sometimes I double the recipe and freeze it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Bruce G
FANTASTIC RECIPE. I fell in love with this dish after having it at Biba's and Buonarroti Italian restaurants in Sacramento. Biba's has it for dinner at $31 a plate ala carte, and Bunoarroti now only offers it as a special. I went to every grocery store and supermarket in Sacramento looking for veal shank, only finding it at one Italian specality market for $12.00 a pound. I finally found fresh beef shank at a asian supermarket for $1.99 a pound. I purchased 3 large shanks, and followed the recipe to a T. I served it over pasta, and was able to feed 5 people that loved it. I had all the incredients, only having to purchase the shank, pasta. celery, which only cost me about $6.00 to feed 5 people.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes