My Reviews (14)

Greek Orange Filo Cake (Portokalopita)

To make this classic Greek citrus cake, filo pastry is shredded and mixed with an orange filling then baked.
Reviews (14)


08 Jun 2017
Reviewed by: JanAdamopoulos
Just made the portokalopita served with icecream, and the guests are raving on how great it tastes. Thank you great recipe.
 
18 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: Diana
Hi lindi611, I'd be happy to give you the US measures. Here you go: 1 lb filo pastry, defrosted if frozen; 3 oranges; 5 eggs; 1 cup plain Greek yoghurt; 3/4 cup extra virgin olive oil; 1/2 cup sugar; 1 tablespoon baking powder. Syrup: 2 cups sugar; 1 1/2 cups water; 1 orange, juiced; 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
25 Jan 2016
Reviewed by: OperationCooking
This is just perfect! It tastes amazing and the recipe is great. I made it with only 400 g of filo, because the packages here are like this, and it turned out great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
25 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: Syd
Fabulous! I added 75 ml honey to the syrup, but other than that followed the recipe. My 4 year old enjoyed shredding the filo.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
03 Apr 2016
Reviewed by: Mil5rovic
Hi Diana, I made the cake following your recipe, but the pita texture is not as it should (I ate the cake inGreece, so i know what to expect). The filo shreds in the middle stuck together and looked and tasted like a doughy homogenous mass. Please tell me what I am doing wrong? Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
28 May 2016
Reviewed by: KeithWilson
Loved it. Made it for a dinner party. Great orange flavour. Only drawback was that the syrup went everywhere when I tried pouring it on top so had to make small holes to let it seep into the cake
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
24 Jul 2015
Reviewed by: TyroneBinder
I couldnt get my hands on greek yogurt .. I got regular plain yogurt .. It was so delicious .. Thank you so much for posting this and the video .. Just curious as to know how much of the zest we should be using because too much can be overwhelming ...
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
27 Jan 2019
Reviewed by: Dennis Hartson
For a phyllo cake, i thought it would have been light and flaky. With the yougart egg mixture it was quite heavy. It tasted ok, just wasnt what my expectations had hoped for.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Sep 2018
Reviewed by: Marianne
delish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2017
Reviewed by: Huh...
Wonderful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes