My Reviews (643)

Quick and Easy Flourless Chocolate Cake

Serve this lovely chocolate cake, made with dark chocolate and cocoa, warm with whipped cream or just dusted with icing sugar.
Reviews (643)


16 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: aliwicks29
Easy and tasty. Very rich and moist.
 
05 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: MommyFromSeattle
Very good recipe but I would skip the cocoa and use all chocolate bars. I've made this many times and find that using cocoa gave the cake a grittier, more brownie-like texture. So I now use 2 full bars of Ghiradelli Bittersweet Chocolate (8 oz. total) and skip the cocoa powder completely (ADD 8-10 min. cooking time). I still use the same amount of sugar. Using ALL chocolate bars gives this a silkier texutre not to mention a stronger chocolate flavor. 4 stars as written, 5+ stars for slight alteration. Serve with fresh sliced strawberries or raspberries and a dusting of powdered sugar for a dessert made for company.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: XODUS1914
I prepared this recipe about a week after trying it at a fancy restaurant. Without a doubt, flourless chocolate cake is yet another food that I previously thought was a high-end, 'classy' dessert that I could only get at the most expensive places. This version has it dead-on; it is absolutely scrumptious and luxurious. It should be noted that I used semi-sweet chocolate morsels and Splenda, and it still came out excellent!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: GUYCHEF
This was o.k.and makes for a very quick last minute dessert. However, the cocoa gave it more of a brownie taste than a chocolate cake/torte. There simply is no substitute for chocolate, LOTS OF IT! Therefore, Flourless Chocolate Cake 1 from this site is the hands down winner of the Flourless Chocolate Cake duel. For an elegant dinner party, make Cake I. For a quicky for the kids, make Cake II.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Marie C.
Made this in mini muffin tins and topped with Hard Chocolate Glaze as suggested by AzMelody. Be sure to grease and dust your tins with cocoa powder or they won't come out of the pans. A bit time consuming but well worth the extra effort. I made these a week early, froze them and frosted the day before the party. They were a big hit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: BRACYTOT
Wonderful! Absolutely delicious. I had a gluten-intolerant guest over for dinner last night. She said this was the best gluten-free cake she ever had. The other guest went crazy for it as well. I don't have a double boiler, so I just melted the butter over low heat in a saucepan, and then added the chocolate. I divided the batter into 3 4" springform pans (although, I think I might use 4 next time; each serving was really huge), using pam and cocoa powder on them before putting the batter in. They popped right out after they had cooled. I turned them upside-down to get a flat surface and then drizzled chocolate ganache over them and topped with piped whipped cream and fresh quartered strawberries. It looked very elegant and tasted just as good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Jenna B.
Excellent. Very rich. Very simple to make. I didn't use a double-boiler. I used the microwave to melt the chocolate & butter. Turned out perfect. Small slices with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, some strawberries and whip cream. A big hit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2005
Reviewed by: Randi
This was the easiest flourless chocolate cake I ever baked, and tasted just about as good as the more complicated recipes. I baked two for a party and, since I had only one springform, I used a regular 8 inch cake pan for the second cake. It was very hard to get the second cake out of the pan, so next time I will use my mother's trick and line the bottom of the greased pan with a circle of wax paper before I pour the batter in.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Sarah
This recipe is fantastic! We poured it into a cupcake pan instead of a cake pan, made a simple choclate ganache (heat up cream or half & half and stir into chocolate chips) and created restaurant-quality chocolate lava cakes. I highly recommend trying this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: COOLSHOES
I have made this recipe multiple times and it always gets rave reviews. My boyfriend even requested this as his birthday cake! I don't have a double boiler, but I used a saucepan over low heat to melt the butter and chocolate. My favorite, very slight variation is to bake as 10-12 cupcakes (no alteration to ingredients) -- it makes perfect single portions. Excellent when topped with a small scoop of mocha almond fudge or coffee ice cream (not so much as to overshadow the cake itself). Amazing for being so simple to make. Thanks so much!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes