My Reviews (10)

Spinach and Ricotta Pie (Torta Pasqualina)

Torta pasqualina is an Italian pie with a lovely spinach and ricotta filling. It's an Easter tradition but you can enjoy it any time of year!
Reviews (10)


27 Jun 2015
Reviewed by: DJWARDLE
Really good meal. Easy to make and delicious. Interesting playing find the egg!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
21 Apr 2019
Reviewed by: Bub
First, thanks to Paola for the effort. I really appreciate when someone goes out of their way to share especially with a video. However my Italian wife agrees that It could use some various herbs appropriate to an egg-spinach recipe. Also maybe some Feta cheese as mine result was somewhat bland. I used a box of 18 whole wheat phyllo that was in the freezer left over from making baklava and my tub of ricotta was larger so I ramped this up to use 1 1/2 lbs of spinach. The egg yolks were still a little runny at a 45 minute bake. Bottom line form me? Meh. I am not willing to adjust and try again as there are a gazillion other recipes for other things I am going to try first.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Apr 2019
Reviewed by: no one
Very good. Made no changes
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Apr 2019
Reviewed by: Becky
The Italian version of spanakopita. I only used 8 phyllo sheets and added mushrooms and garlic and omitted the egg yolks. Yummy! 6 servings is too large a piece as a side dish. 1/8 worked perfectly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2019
Reviewed by: Lena
Had this in Italy once - loved it - the egg yolks is a must!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2019
Reviewed by: deucenahaff
Way too much prep for the outcome. Meh!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 May 2018
Reviewed by: bellsfl
This was very good. I did not use the yolks. I've made it twice, and it was a big hit each time. First in the pie form as described here, then as phyllo tartlet filling (sold in grocery freezer section , cooked as per package)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2018
Reviewed by: Joan Stafford
My church group enjoyed it very much. However I thought it was a lot of work especially since I had never worked with phillo before. Also still have all the leftover egg whites!,
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2015
Reviewed by: Tatie
Took quite a lot of time to prepare, especially to work the filo sheets, but the result is totally worth the effort. I've used 4 egg yolks instead of 6.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
26 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: chardonbleu
Quick and easy to make, I left out the pine nuts and nutmeg, used one egg only as I misread the recipe and didn't bother with chopping the spinach, It was delicious, even the fussy eaters liked it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes