My Reviews (33)

Kumara and Wild Rice Soup

This is a delicious soup combining kumara and wild rice. If you substitute with vegetarian stock it is a vegan recipe.
Reviews (33)


15 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Carrie Allmendinger
I used vegetable stock to make it vegetarian. The box was just shy of 3 cups since I used it for another recipe and added close to a cup of water. I used Bismati rice instead of wild rice. There were 2 yams on hand, which might have been around 2 pounds. I used actual garlic instead of the powder and sauteed it with red onion and omitted the onion power. While tasting I added a touch of garlic salt, and more of the spices to the soup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: ivy ellis
This was a really easy dinner. I added a can of navy beans for protein and used a handful of pearl onions instead of one big one. The curry with the yams was suprisingly good. Warm and creamy. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Sep 2017
Reviewed by: Pokebonbon
What happened? It was always my go-to when my cookbooks failed me. It was SO easy. Now, pages won't load completely & search results when they do load aren't accurate. It was great while it lasted.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Aug 2016
Reviewed by: Levantcooking
So I added some mushroom and carrots/peas for more veggies. And sadly didn't have wild rice so substituted with Jasmine. Tastes great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jan 2016
Reviewed by: Rick Jaillet
We made this in a slow cooker. We we're going on a hike and wanted something warm when we got home. We added one extra cup of broth and didn't add rice. We had one chicken breast left over from the day before so I fried it up and added. Cook time 6 hours on low, it came out excellant.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: Marg
This is really good soup. I sautéed the yams and onions a bit first and I added chopped spinach. Really enjoyed it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: Jonathan David Klein
I love the sweetness with the spice. It's a flavorful dish, less soup but more of the consistency of a risotto dish as the rice takes up most of the liquid. I find that using wild,rice just takes too long for the rice to cook, so,stick with white rice only.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: portishead0503
This was ok. I had to double the broth as there was not nearly enough and it was a bit too spicy for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: lisavl
Very yummy! I fried the onions, fresh garlic (substituted garlic powder) and diced yams before putting in the soup. I think this gave the soup an extra wonderful flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: DENVERMED
I used this as a base recipe. I added more veggie broth and water to sauteed leeks and garlic. I also added some brocolli and beet greens. I tend to prefer creamier soups and I found using my food processor on a few ladels of soup when it was near done helped to "bulk up" the soup. Only 4 stars because it was a but too sweet for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes