My Reviews (33)

Kumara and Wild Rice Soup

This is a delicious soup combining kumara and wild rice. If you substitute with vegetarian stock it is a vegan recipe.
Reviews (33)


28 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: CYBERJLO
I'd been looking for a warm, filling soup for the Fall and Winter, and I think this is it! It was very easy to make. I took the advice of others and used about 6 cups of chicken stock. I already had some wild rice that was cooked, so that was even easier! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Jopejo
This was a great soup. I had to increase the amount of broth used, also subbed brown rice for wild rice. delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: whats a ladle?
Hello. Yes it needs more chicken broth, and a bit longer to fully cook the rice. I would say reduce the first 20 min, and give the rice longer. This way it doesn't get too mushy. It was delicious! I added some baby carrots
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: lancej
My wife made this and I thought it was boring. It tasted like pureed yams and curry powder. It wasn't as elegant tasting as an Indian dish, tho it smelled like it. We are vegetarians, so we omitted the chicken broth and used veggie broth instead. Maybe it's better with chicken broth? I tend to like dishes with many facets of flavor and this wasn't my cup of tea. I prefer my wife's white bean soup which is just as simple, but bucket loads more flavorful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: RobynHG
a great combo of sweet and spicy. i used 4 cups of chicken broth and 1.5 lbs of yams. the only reason this wasn't a 5 is because i'm not the biggest fan of spice, but that's not the recipe's fault ... if you really like curry, you'll love this. i peeled the yams before dicing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: Jayy Poindexter
we loved it a lot we made popovers with it and the combo was great we also made chicken with curry powder and the combo of all that was amazing
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: emjay926
I think this is so tasty, but I made some modifications. I used 1/4 teaspoon of curry as I don't like strong curry flavor, added a dash of cinnamon, and I added some boiled chicken to the soup, so it's yams, chicken and rice. I also pureed some of the yams/onions to add some thickness and more flavor to the broth. Also, double your liquids; 3 cups is not even close to enough broth. Tasty and rich, perfect for Fall/Winter!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: sbnm
This is a tasty soup that both my husband and I enjoyed. It was slightly sweeter than I expected (and than we both prefer), which is why it didn't get 5 stars. I used a high quality yam that was quite deep in color, which potentially contributed to the sweetness.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Kristen Swinton
Very yummy and easy to make! I used at least twice the amount of broth.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2010
Reviewed by: yummychef
My mom, being mom, of course said "This soup is WONDERFUL dear, it's just PERFECT." (Ah, moms. So nice even if your dish tastes like doggy poop.)Sadly, my bro and I followed the recipe exactly. The big problem was it turned out too spicy and the rice didn't fully cook. Texture was good though, and the taste could have been a lot worse, I guess.Only OK.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes