My Reviews (33)

Kumara and Wild Rice Soup

This is a delicious soup combining kumara and wild rice. If you substitute with vegetarian stock it is a vegan recipe.
Reviews (33)


20 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: bad monkey
I added fresh garlic which I sauteed with the onion a bit before using. I also omitted the wild rice (to reduce carbs), used an entire quart of chicken broth, and pureed the soup before serving. To each serving I then added a dollop of plain nonfat yogurt, toasted slivered almonds, and fresh thyme leaves. This was a perfect autmnal soup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: MPWULFF
SO YUMMY!!!! My husband and I really enjoyed this hearty vegetarian soup. I did add 3-4 more cups of chicken broth, an extra 1/2 pound of yams, a rice mixture with wild, brown, and white rice and only used 1/2 an onion and it was delicious! I also left out the onion powder since I didn't have any. I will make it again for sure!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Mallow1
This was very good - I didn't have wild rice, so substituted brown rice and added it in at the beginning with all other ingredients. Moderately spicy, depending on the curry powder used.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Lynn Grant
This is a definite 5 star soup! I double the chicken broth, and lightly fried the yams before adding to the boing broth. I then sauteed the onion, adding chopped cellery and garlic cloves (about 5) for a few minutes before adding to broth, and sauteed and added a diced potato instead of rice. It has become my favorite soup!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: eyoungren
Wonderful recipe. I used 4 cups vegetable broth instead of chicken and added a dash of poultry seasoning. Even with the extra broth it turned into a very thick, chunky stew, which I actually loved! My husband loved the thickness too and all of the different flavors. I agree about the wild rice - its adds the only contrasting color in a sea of orange! My husband actually called his mother and told her about this soup the next day. She called and asked for the recipe! Mother-in-law asking me for cooking advice? Let's just say that's never happend before!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: lindsah of the sauga
Used 6 cups of broth and 1 1/2 pounds yams and found this made for a balanced consistancy. Added a clove of garlic instead of the powder and a touch of tabasco. Please try to use wild rice! It makes for a beautiful presentation!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: foodlover
I loved this! I too added fresh garlic, and also added in some celery. I didn't add much extra broth, because i wanted it to not be very soupy. But it would of been easy to add adjust the consistency. Its a nice something different meal. Delish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Rainestormrose
WONDERFUL SOUP! And so easy! The only things I changed was I omitted the onion powder because there was already onion in the recipe. I also used minced garlic instead of the powder as others had suggested. I cooked the rice seperate in chicken broth. Then followed the instuctions for boiling the yams (about 20 min. 40 min. would be too long.) Once yams were tender I added cooked rice. I was afraid that the rice would not get cooked and that is why I did it this way. It looked really good but I decided to use a potato smasher to "messy smash" some of the potatoes and leave some of them not smashed. The result was a thicker soup that was just WONDERFUL. I will make this again and again. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: GOODQUEENBESS
Wonderful flavor and easy, easy prep, but I tripled the amount of chicken broth; three cups wasn't even close to enough. Also added a bit more curry powder and black pepper. Super with an Indian themed meal or just with a green salad on the side and some white wine. Kicked up, easy, vegetarian comfort food!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Sher
My hubby loved this, I didn't have 2 pds of yams so I used 1 pd. yam 1 pd. sweet potato. Still very very yummy I was scared they wouldn't cook so I cooked them separately(the yams and potato) from the rest. I also used 4 cups of broth, didn't add the onion powder and cooked the rice for 25 min. in the broth then added the potatoes just until they heated up again. Very very yummy and easy. We had this on a hot evening and it still was great! Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes