My Reviews (8)

Cheese and Bacon Rolls

I love these rolls for a picnic lunch or simple weekday packed lunch. Although they are easy enough to buy at the shops I like getting to mix and match my bacon and cheese choices.
Reviews (8)


04 May 2014
Reviewed by: ktcrumpet
These were amazing! So much better than the shops. My family were very impressed, and so was I. Followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for sharing.
 
14 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: xochristine5086
These are absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfect! So much better than store bought. Will be making these again!
 
03 Nov 2015
Reviewed by: katebakes
Just delicious! I had a 500g packet of lauke bread mix so used that and scaled the milk and water down to 350mL and made the dough in the bread maker and it worked a treat! I halved the dough before making the rolls, and am hoping that it will survive overnight in the fridge so I can make the rolls fresh again tomorrow.
 
13 May 2018
Reviewed by: aliceanne27
I made slight changes to the recipe, I only added the additional tbsp of sugar as 2 tbsps I feel make the buns a bit on the sweet side when it's supposed to be savoury and I made smaller rolls (instead of 12 big rolls I made 24 smaller rolls) and before putting on the egg wash and cheese and bacon bits I flatten/stretch the rolls out a bit so there is more surface area for the cheese and bacon to sit. I also sprinkled what looked like a generous amount on top of each roll but still had left over cheese and bacon. These changes were done on my second try of this recipe and they were the bomb.com!!! I ended up with beautiful and tasty cheese and bacon rolls, nice and brown on the outside and fluffy on the inside. Soooooo much better than the stuff from woolies or bakers delight!! My advice would be to double the recipe because if your family loves cheese and bacon rolls they'll be fighting over them! I also found this recipe to be super easy and I've only just started making my own breads and rolls so this is a great beginners guide to working with yeast
 
21 Jan 2018
Reviewed by: SyrildaWerrett
I made it just as the recipe says however I put it in my bread machine. It did overfill it a little bit but it still worked to make the rolls. My husband is Australian but we live in California and cheese and bacon rolls are one of the things he really misses from home. When I made this recipe I had to painstakingly remove the fat from American bacon since we don't have awesome bacon like you lucky Australians. My husband said they were just like they are from the Asian bakeries and ate heaps of them. With the other 2 recipes I tried he only ate 1 from each batch, so I know we hit gold with this recipe.
 
19 Feb 2017
Reviewed by: Keljoon
First time making this and it is a hit! Recipe is so easy to follow and tastes absolutely amazing. Thank you!
 
06 Aug 2016
Reviewed by: kmichalantos1
Tasty, easy and the best tasting cheese and bacon rolls out. Better than the ones you can buy at the shops
 
08 Oct 2015
Reviewed by: bigfatpiggy
These were delicious! Light and fluffy and not greasy like the store bought ones! This is my first attempt at bread making and I couldn't have hoped for better. I'll definitely be making them again!
 

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes