My Reviews (538)

Homemade Churros

These are a great Mexican fritter that is similar to donuts and popular at fairs and for street stalls. The recipe is surprisingly easy to make.
Reviews (538)


09 Apr 2016
Reviewed by: kenna666
delicious! very fun and easy to make! I would roll the churros in cinnamon sugar and not let them drain unless very oily because the cinnamon does not stick very well. I will defiantly make them again!
 
20 Jul 2016
Reviewed by: NiqueyJacobsen
So easy, I made it will less oil for cooking still worked amazingly and less wastage.
 
02 Mar 2018
Reviewed by: Hayelz_Jane
We had no vegetable oil so used 1 tablespoon of olive oil and followed everything else correctly the recipe was delicious! Instead of piping i layed over glad wrap and used cookie cutter and made into shapes. This went down fantastic with people and now asked as a party favour. I do believe vegetable oil would still be alot better though so will buy some before i make these again very soon im sure! 😊
 
11 May 2017
Reviewed by: MeaghanB
OMG. I have finally found a quick and easy recipe for churros. I love churros so much!!!
 
16 Apr 2017
Reviewed by: SerapOzcan
Made it, however it was too hard for my piping bag and it busted, I rolled out the rest by hand and used a fork to ripple through it best ones I made so far tasted great with drippled hot chocolate and crused walnuts sprinkled on top
 
10 Jan 2017
Reviewed by: Meg02
Batter was too thick to put through a piping bag, tried twice and still fat batter.
 
06 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: IliganoaTaofiTiatia
My 1 year old LOVES these! I made them today for his snack and he literally runs back for more! I doubled the mixture and it was just for the 2 of us. I didn't have an icing thingy so I just rolled it and cut it in to farely even portions LOL. Love it
 
28 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Cat
I tried it the first time 'as is,' which I believe is necessary when reviewing a recipe. They were fine but browned too fast and were chewy. Based on that and other people's reviews, I made the following adjustments: a) only 1 tbl of sugar in the dough (cuts the browning); b) only 1 tbl of oil in the dough (cuts the chewiness). It should be noted that you only need to mix dry with wet for 30 sec. I also used a churreria, which ensures the right thickness and was brilliant. Made these finger sized with only 5 in the pan at a time - putting too many in the pan lowers the temp of the oil & will cause you to cook them long after they're brown or remove them while still raw. Take them out to drain, put the next batch in the fryer and shake the cooling (now warm not hot) ones in a paper bag with the sugar and cinnamon; a second person is not needed. I would recommend doubling the recipe for anyone wanting to serve more than 2-3 people without having to double the sugar/cinnamon coating. Halve the sugar/cinna mix if only making one batch. Real churros in Spain are not light and fluffy; they're like this. All in all, a good recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: FLIPCOOK30
Easy recipe Delia! My husband thought it was difficult to make. Did not have a pastry bag, so I used a ziploc bag instead to pipe into oil. I had no problems at all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 May 2003
Reviewed by: Mommy of Five
These were GREAT! I should have doubled the recipe because it turned out they were not enough, hehe. Make sure you fry them till they are a golden brown, they don't come out as chewy. I used my Pampered Chef Easy Accent Decorator with the largest flower tip attachment, they were thin but they were so yummy and cute! Also, if you don't mess with them until they are ready to be turned, they shouldn't fall apart.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes