My Reviews (437)

Quick Honey Pizza Base

This is a super quick pizza base - you don't have to let it rise for more than a few minutes. Use with your favourite pizza toppings.
Reviews (437)


08 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: KGOLD
Wonderful recipe. You'd never know it was healthy! I've found that if I heat a glass of water for a minute in the microwave, the microwave becomes a great place (warm and humid) to stash the dough for rising.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: ALEXSMOMI
This is excellent. As written, allow a little time for the dough to rise initially but then allow it to again for another 5-10 minutes on the pan before you bake it. The result is a nice "pan pizza" like crust - GUILT FREE! I agree wholeheartedly with the recommendations to pre-cook at 350 for 15 minutes or more (depending on thickness) and then add toppings and cook again. My husband kept "oohing" and "ahhing" about the crust. I think the honey really makes it. For those of you who mentioned it was tough - perhaps you kneeded it too much. You want to mix with greased hands just until the ingredients are incorporated. We made individual pizzas which was really fun for the kids (ok - and me and hubby too!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Suprbacana
I made it in my food processor and added a couple swirls of olive oil to make the dough easier to work with... Then I covered the dough and stashed it in the fridge all day. I took it out of the fridge an hour before I wanted to use it to warm it up. Cut it into 4 pieces and rolled it onto parchment, brushed with a touch of olive oil, and baked on a pizza stone at 450 degrees for 3 minutes or so. Then took it out, put some pesto, cheese, tomatoes, and whatever else. Fresh cracked pepper on top, and back on the stone for 4-5 minutes or until the cheese was melty. I will never make white pizza dough again....this was so incredibly good! Love the honey in it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: Lisa
This recipe is similar to a Betty Crocker whole wheat recipe I have always used except it is even more healthy! I really like that it has wheat germ and honey in it instead of oil and sugar. Prepared the dough in my breadmaker which allows it to rise for an hour, then pressed it into a medium size pizza pan sprayed with canola oil. Let rest for 15 mins and then precooked in 425 oven for 2 minutes before adding all the other toppings. Turned out great, crunchy on the outside and chewy inside!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: YLSCHMIDT
This recipe is quick, easy and tastes great. I tried it because it was cholesterol free. I was in search of a whole wheat pizza dough and this one is great. My family likes it with olive oil, fresh home grown tomatoes, fresh garlic, italian seasoning and mozzarella cheese. I suggest NOT doubling the recipe your first time. This recipe is substancial for a family of 3-4.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: S Griffin
Yummy! I did what STARS4BEA did below, I prebaked it for 17 minutes @ 350, put the toppings on, then baked it again for 20 minutes @ 350, then for an additional 5 minutes @ 400. I floured my pizza stone a little and used a thin spatula to loosen the dough off the stone after the first 17 minutes. It came out DELICIOUS! I had actually kneaded the dough and let it rise longer because I had the time. My only complaint is that it wasn't very crispy on the bottom, but this was my first time using a pizza stone, so I think I'll just have to practice. All in all, the dough was VERY tasty, VERY quick, and a GREAT healthy alternative to regular pizza dough!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: SHMANESSA8
Very good! I used this dough to make two round 12" thin crust pizza's. It was a little softer than we like (we like crisp crust) but such a great flavor and we can adjust to the softness because it is sooo much better for us than jiffy pizza crust! Very easy to make. I did a few things differently. After I let the dough rise for 10 minutes in a warm oven then I kneaded it for a few minutes on a lightly floured surface. I greased the pizza pans and my hands with cooking spray and pressed the dough onto the pans. Very easy! I let the crust rest for 10 minutes then poked holes and baked for 4.5 minutes @ 425 degrees. Added toppings and baked for 11 minutes @ 425 degrees. Great recipe, thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: Denise Creighton
Great taste and texture. I added some herbs (italian) to the flour mixture. Even better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 May 2002
Reviewed by: FSHELL
This is a great recipe! It is very easy to make when you use a bread maker.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: misterjellineck
Excellent! This crust is easy to assemble and tastes great. I topped mine with ranch dressing, a variety of fresh vegetables, and two cheeses; but everyone agrees it is good enough to eat alone. I try to avoid white flour, so I was particularly thrilled to discover this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes