My Reviews (416)

Wheatgerm Buttermilk Pancakes

These delicious, wholesome pancakes are very nutritious, too. Treat yourself to a healthy breakfast full of fibre!
Reviews (416)


22 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: VeggieBalls
I made these 2 different ways since I thought maybe the baking soda was a misprint and it was meant to say baking powder? The soda ones didn't come out nearly as good as the powder ones. The soda pancakes were flat yet okay tasting and the powder cakes were tastier, fluffier and better looking. I'll make them again but I'd do it with the baking powder for sure.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: chibi chef
These pancakes turned out so delicious, we've decided to make them a tradition/treat for Sunday morning breakfast. I'd choose these pancakes over any made from a boxed mix or at a restaurant. I don't keep WW pastery flour so I just use regular WW or sometimes white WW. I've made it with both regular eggs and just egg whites and discovered that while the original recipe is good and fluffy, the pancakes are a bit lighter when I use only egg whites. If you run out of buttermilk, this substitute works in a pinch: measure 2 Tbsp lemon into a large measuring glass, add enough milk to make it 2 cups, and let it sit for 5 min before using.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Energizer Bunny
I don't know why people rate a recipe when they've changed every ingredient in it except one. That being said, I almost walked away from this recipe because I didn't have ww pastry flour. I only had regular ww. After reading the reviews, I decided to just use what I had and these pancakes turned out beautifully! They are really fluffy, and full of substance. My kids each at 2 - a bit hit! Thank you for this recipe. I'll definitely be using it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: CJCDEC
I used flax seed instead of the eggs. 1 T. ground flax + 3 T. water replaces one egg. More healthy! Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Caren
Nice recipe Kaykwilts!!! Tried it with both the wheat germ and without and both ways it is good. Very light, fluffy and yet extremely healthy. (P.S. I also tried it with regular whole wheat flour instead of the pastry, trust me people, you NEED to get the pastry flour--it makes all the difference). (Little add-ins & substitutions to suit my particular needs/preferences: added 2 tbs Splenda and 1 scoop of unflavored Whey Protein powder to get the protein/carb/fat ratios I need for my BFFM diet.) Who would have thought I could have pancakes on my diet? Absolutely sensational. Thanks again KayKwilts.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 May 2006
Reviewed by: MaMaMeYah
My family loves, loves, loves these pancakes. I did substitute a few things because I didn't have a few ingred. on hand...but they turned out awesome!!! I did substitute oil w/ applesauce. I didn't have any buttermilk, so I used 1 cup blueberry yogurt and 1 cup vanilla yogurt! These are to die for!!! My 2 year old eats 2-3 pancakes, and he was not a fan of pancakes before this recipe! FIVE STARS!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: bakergirl
I liked this recipe but one time, on accident I left out the oil and they came out even better, more fluffy (and I saved calories). My brother requests these every Saturday.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Rangel
Fluffy, clean-tasting delicious pancakes! I used ground flaxseed instead of wheat germ and 1/2 c yogurt + 1 1/2 c milk for buttermilk and my parents loved it. Definitely a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2006
Reviewed by: Tara
This recipe is wonderful!!! As a college student, I need foods that are quick and easy, and this definitely fit the bill. I will make this again, without a doubt. For taste, I added vanilla and cinnamon. As an alternative for syrup, mix a little cool whip with strawberry preserves and top with fresh strawberries - it looks great and is delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2007
Reviewed by: REGINAHARRIS
These were really good. I have a houseful of kids here and they scarfed them up. I even forgot the salt and they were still gobbled up. I think next time I would maybe a tablespoon of sugar...otherwise, awesome. I used regular wheat flour and nonfat buttermilk and they came out light and fluffy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes