My Reviews (17)

Low Fat Walnut Muffins

Delicious and healthy breakfast muffins made with wholemeal flour, low fat yoghurt, nutmeg and walnuts.
Reviews (17)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
lreeder said:
Used different ingredients. This recipe made very delicious and hearty wheat muffins. They were a great after school snack for the kids. I froze the rest and they were eaten in school lunches and for quick on-the-go breakfasts. You can play around with this recipe to suit your whims. Once I added finely chopped apples and cinnamon. Another time I added ground flax seed. I think I like it with the addition of cinnamon. I like the fact that it has no oil but it still has a nice texture and they turn out moist and just yummy. So play around with it if you want, or just enjoy it as is.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
JANDAMOM said:
Used different ingredients. These muffins were ok - a little too fluffy for my taste. I added raisins and left out the nutmeg, and they tasted fine.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
AISTRONG said:
Used different ingredients. Good muffins. I used pecans instead of walnuts and cinnamon instead of nutmeg. They are tasty warm with a little butter .
 
17 May 2006
Reviewed by: RUBIERUTHIE
This recipe made very delicious and hearty wheat muffins. They were a great after school snack for the kids. I froze the rest and they were eaten in school lunches and for quick on-the-go breakfasts. You can play around with this recipe to suit your whims. Once I added finely chopped apples and cinnamon. Another time I added ground flax seed. I think I like it with the addition of cinnamon. I like the fact that it has no oil but it still has a nice texture and they turn out moist and just yummy. So play around with it if you want, or just enjoy it as is.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: mostedgaard
Really good recipe. I also made some substitutions. I used 1.5 cup wheat flour and .5 cup white flour. I also substituted the white sugar for the brown sugar, the walnuts for almonds and the nutmeg for the cinnamon. I also cooked these as mini muffins for 10 minutes which was perfect. It's a great breakfast and will be a great snack later.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Snow Angel
My husband raves about these muffins! (And I do, too!) I can hardly believe how healthy they are, for how good they taste! I did add cinnamon, because it is a favorite spice in this household, but I might try without next time. I think for the texture it is important to go quickly from mixing the wet & dry, right into the oven - the leavening acts quickly, and you want them to be fluffy! I will note - I had enough batter for more than 12 muffins using a bare pan (no liners), but only one pan, so I can't tell exactly how many it could have made. Oh, one more thing (sorry so long!), I really enjoyed splitting a muffin open and putting a bit of peanut butter on it - match that with fruit for a great light meal!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: magnolia
These are really good. I substituted craisins for the nuts but otherwise followed the recipe. They are light and fluffy and very tasty. I loved the nutmeg.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: CIRC
The flavor of these muffins is really good, but I am personally not crazy about the consistency. If you are looking for a fluffier non-dense muffin, these may be for you. I made only a few adjustments - used brown sugar instead of white because that's what I had - used a 1/2 cup of white flour and 1 1/2 cups of wheat. Also added some cinnamon and shredded carrot, and dried cherries in place of the nuts. I would try this recipe again but maybe add some oatmeal or something to make them more dense.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: lovestef
Good muffins. I used pecans instead of walnuts and cinnamon instead of nutmeg. They are tasty warm with a little butter .
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Joanna
Love it! I used soy milk, added fresh blueberries cuz I wanted some fruit, 1/8 cup water to make it a bit fluffier, and 1.5 c wheat flour and 1/2 c white flour. I also didn't have nutmeg, so I used cinnamon. So good! Makes a little more than 12 muffins, probably more like 14 or 15. Does taste somewhat wheaty with my variation, but I like it that way on a healthier note.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes