My Reviews (478)

Vietnamese Rice Paper Rolls

These spring rolls are really healthy and not fried. They make a lovely change for a summer party served with one or both of the dipping sauces. Well worth the effort - these are fantastic.
Reviews (478)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Joy said:
Used different ingredients. I'm Vietnamese so I was impressed when I saw such a great version of one of my favourite dishes. For those of you who are willing to add a bit more effort to make the rolls even that much more "authentic" here are some suggestions: along with the prawn, add some boiled pork that's thinly sliced. As well as some sprouts, grated carrot and a long thinly sliced piece of cucumber. And for an easy and excellent peanut dipping sauce, mix 1 part crunchy peanut butter to 2 parts hoisin sauce. Whisk over medium heat until blended, adding a few splashes of water to make the sauce less thick. This sauce truly MAKES the dish! Hope this was helpful!
 
Comment:
19 Mar 2010
LornaE said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I am planning on making these for an upcoming get together and wondered how long in advance I could make these.
 
18 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: JacksBack
This will become a family favourite I'm sure. We all enjoyed a light and healthy meal with great flavours. We won't bother with the fish sauce mix, instead the Peanut Butter & Hoi Sin Dipping Sauce is a hit. Do yourself a favour and saute green prawns in your favourite flavours in stead of bland precooked prawns and add in your favourite vegies!
 
Comment:
18 Oct 2010
JacksBack said:
Used different ingredients. Instead of cooked prawns I used green prawns and sauteed them in a frypan with butter thats been blended with pureed Ginger, Garlic, Chilli, Onion and Anchovies. I keep chuncks of this butter in the freezer for adding flavour to dishes. I loved the Peanut Butter and Hoi Sin Dipping Sauce, and so did everyone else, including the kids, but I didn't bother heating it up. I also didn't use the corriander & mint, instead I added blanched snow peas and shaved carrot.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
MarylandGirl said:
Used different ingredients. This was so similar to a cooking class recipe that I lost that I just had to try it. I simplified the recipe by mixing the softened rice noodles with fish sauce (for flavor), and omitting the basil and mint. I added grated fresh carrots to the rolls for extra color and flavor. One of the tips I learned in the cooking class was to layer the ingredients for color and a good presentation. On the bottom end of the softened wrapper, place a leaf of lettuce, cut into two pieces, so that it lies flat. Top with grated carrots, then rice noodles, then coriander leaves. Just above this stack of ingredients, lay the split prawn in a line. By doing this, the prawn will be visible through the transparent wrapper, when the rolls are served. Diagonally slice off the uneven ends of the roll, and make a diagonal cut through the roll, dividing it into two pieces. By doing this, the beautiful green, orange, and white fillings are displayed. I served my rolls with a peanut dipping sauce. It was very, very good! The next day, I mixed the leftover rice noodles with fish sauce, grated carrots, cooked prawn, coriander, peanut sauce, and chopped lettuce for a tasty and easy cold main dish.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
April A said:
Altered ingredient amounts. These came out so pretty! Unless you have monster prawns, I'd double or triple the prawn (you need 2-3 per roll of the 20-per-pound prawn). My local supermarket sells rounds of pre-made cocktail prawn, which made this very easy. Didn't use the lettuce, but varied the herbs and carrots. Suggestions: try not to overload with noodles (and I added soy sauce when cooking those for flavor); you're slicing the prawn lengthwise; and the tea kettle of hot water worked great to keep the wrapping water hot. I think some of the folks having problems with tearing wrappers may have been leaving the wrapper in the water until it is soft. It really, really only needs to be submerged and pulled out immediately--I promise. It will get softer as it sits. Also, I had better luck wrapping by putting the ingredients in a neat prawn-down pile off center of the round wrapper. Fold up the two short ends, and tuck their corners into the ingredients (you're looking for a rounded edge, not a square one like in gift wrapping), then use the shorter of the long sides to wrap over the ingredients and the longer one to pull them all together. The fish sauce was great (oh, but that smell); didn't get around to the hoisin.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: PSYCHGIRL26
These fresh spring rolls are delicious! Don't be intimidated by the rice paper wrappers. Soak them one at a time in warm water until they are JUST soft then remove it to a paper towel and fill. The wrap will continue to soften. By the time you are finished adding the ingredients, it will be ready to roll. If you don't have ALL the ingredients called for in this recipe, please don't let that stop you from using what you do have and enjoying every bite.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: JUICIEST
Fabulous. Make sure you use Thai basil. It makes all the difference. Everything about this recipe is authentic and delicious. This is my all-time favourite Vietnamese/Thai entree.
 
Comment:
12 Jan 2013
absolitely delicious !!! i made this for my family today, it was a hit , instead of the sauces mentioned we used sweet chilli
 
13 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Chalky1234
Just Brilliant!!!!! Everyone loved this easy recipe!
 

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes