My Reviews (26)

Vietnamese Nuoc Cham Sauce

Classic Vietnamese dipping sauce - it's great for dipping spring rolls, rice paper rolls and for serving with Lemongrass Beef Skewers.
Reviews (26)


03 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Sissy
I've been making this sauce for years. First of all, I would double the recipe, second combine all ingredients in a sauce pan and bring to boil, the heat intensify the flavor, especially the garlic. I keep tasting it and adding more fish sauce, lime juice and sugar as needed until I like it. Doing it this way, you also dissolve all the sugar, so the sugar wouldn't just settle to the bottom.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2000
Reviewed by: UYEN
thie recipe for nuaoc cham is what i've been looking for!! i get cravings for good vietnamese cooking (something i miss since moving away from home for school) and this recipe tastes delicious with everything: rice, vermicelli noddles, spring rolls, summer rolls, and other vietnamese dishes. try it and you will love it. i guarantee it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2009
Reviewed by: ColdNovember
I'm feel bad giving this recipe such a bad rating. Vietnamese food is my favorite and this sauce did not taste right at all. The garlic over powered everything!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: lenihan5
Great sauce. I especially like it because it isn't so salty like sauces that use soy sauce. When making white rice I used half water and half this sauce. Very tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Duncan
Just like the local Vietnamese restaurant! The ratios are pretty spot on! [I left out the garlic as I don't normally see it in the sauces at the places I eat.]
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: SPEARFISHER
This was..ok I thought. Personally preference I guess but I won't make it again. My son (who is the pickiest eater EVER) actually really liked it. But he won't notice if I dont make it again so I wont. It was just........bland to me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Nora Bee
It tastes just like what's served in Vietnamese restaurants. Very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: JOSIE
I am by no means a fish sauce person, but I can tolerate it when made like this. We served this with fried gourd and certainly a little goes a long way. I would suggest adding a little pickled ginger (chop up fresh ginger into matchstrips and stuff into a jar...add enough regular vinegar to cover and let sit at least 30 minutes) to give it an extra layer of flavor...but it's good as is. Thanks Maryellen.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: SHERRYMILLER
Light, fresh and easy to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: arlene
yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes