My Reviews (54)

Venison and Onion Stew

Venison is a very lean meat that is often best in a stew. This one contains onions and garlic and is flavoured with Worcestershire sauce and thyme.
Reviews (54)


19 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: BenFarmer
I coated the venison in flour before frying (don't need to add it at the endif you do that), added 1/3 cup red wine, 1 tspn crushed chilli and some black pepper and also some peas and carrots near the end. spot on.
 
21 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: cooking man
An excellent venison stew recipe for folks who do not like a "wild game taste". A slow cooker is essential. The looker to slow cook it, the better the flavors will blend, and the less gamey it will taste. I recommend slow cooking for 5 hours, chilling overnight, and then again slow cooking for another 5 hours. This maximizes flavor without making the veggies mushy. Also, additional flour should not be needed if the meat is first dredged in flour before browning.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Shauna
I made this yesterday and it was awesome! I did make a couple of changes though... I omitted the onion and used onion juice instead. And I only used half the amount of onion that was listed in the recipe. Also, I used carrots instead of parsnips. We thought it was really good... I served it with cornbread. Great recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: SHUBUG
This is a good easy recipe for venison. Use whatever root vegetables you have on hand.I personally use a crock pot on a low simmer, and leave it for several hours. It is quite good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Kristy Nordeen
I made this last night. Delicious! I did make a few changes. ~ I used my crockpot and put it on low for about 8 hours ~ I used a box of beef stock and a splash of red wine instead of water ~ I didn't have parsnips, but I did add 1 cubed sweet potato, a couple chopped carrots and some celery I thought it was very tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Kenneth
This was a fantastic recipe. I followed it to the letter with great results with only two exceptions.I used carrots instead of parsnips, and instead of mixing the flour in water in at the end, I made a rue (really simple!) with butter and flour and added that instead. The result was a thick, hearty, and savory stew that everyone just loved!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
24 Jul 2008
NJSS2000 said:
Something else. An excellent venison stew recipe for folks who do not like a "wild game taste". A slow cooker is essential. I recommend slow cooking for 5 hours, chilling overnight, and then again slow cooking for another 5 hours. This maximises flavour without making the veggies mushy. Also, additional flour should not be needed if the meat is first dredged in flour before browning.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
06 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: cooking4coach
This recipe is delicious! I've tried many ways to cook venison tenderloin and this is sooo good! I did make a couple of changes: only used 2 onions, and substituted baby carrots for parsnips which I had on hand. This cooked in the crockpot on low all day. When I got home from work, I whipped up some hot, homemade buttermilk biscuits to use in "sopping up" the gravy -- oh my goodness! Talk about some comfort food!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
I'm not a stew or venison lover, but hubby is and he went wild over this. I did have to add a few of my own seasonings and I bought a bag of soup greens which included all of the root vegies that normally go into a stew. Thanks so much Nancy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
24 Jul 2008
Used different ingredients. Wonderful... cooked as is, except added carrots instead of parsnips, and it came out perfect. Would make again! Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes