My Reviews (1,015)

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Spread

Serve on crusty wholemeal rolls or pita bread with lettuce and tomato. Other raw vegetables can be used instead of celery.
Reviews (1015)


25 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: ninie
We are not vegetarians but were looking for something differant. We enjoyed this filling on homemade chapatti. I used a food processor but think it will be much better with a chunky texture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Zory
This was so good!!! I was hesitant to try it because of the simple ingredients but I am glad I did! Will make often! I used like 1/4 onion instead of half and left out the pepper. I also cut the onion and celery in very small pieces so it could blend well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Shayla
So yummy and so simple!! Makes a great substitute for chicken salad!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Blossom
Boy, who would have ever thought to do this with chickpeas?? This stuff is the bomb!! We love it. We ate it on crackers. Fishlove, you've got a winner here! Thanks for sharing it
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: MARIAM
Very easy to make, but I was a bit hesitant about putting in the beans as is without cooking them to soften them. I still made as is to see how they'd turn out, and as I expected, they were extremely hard to digest. The beans were still a bit hard and as another reviewer said, they really do give you a tummy ache for a few days! I never use canned beans without first boiling them for a few minutes after rinsing, and I will never try to do so again! So...if we were to boil the beans for about 10 minutes before mixing with the rest, this would be a 5 star filling. The flavours were really good, and I would play aroud with the spices each time. Good change on regular tuna sandwitches. We could not eat the leftovers due to their uncomfortable crunchiness, so I ended up putting the mix in a skilled with some water and cooked them until soft, and added some eggs to them to make a nice omelet the next day. That was delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Muffin Mans wife
This was great, although I had to make a few changes. I squeezed I half fresh lemon and put 4tbsp of light mayo to make it a little more moist. I also added some garlic powder....it came out totally yummers!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Katherine
I love this. It's easy to make and super convenient. It stores well in the fridge and making a big batch means I'll have healthy sandwiches to take to class with me all week.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: DivaMommy
Really not good-tasting...no one liked this at my house.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Denise
Yum! I'm always looking for different ways to use chickpeas. This is a great recipe! Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Marbear
The raw onion in this recipe is way super overpowering, but otherwise this would be pretty good. So I give it three stars as written, but there is potential.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes