My Reviews (1,015)

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Spread

Serve on crusty wholemeal rolls or pita bread with lettuce and tomato. Other raw vegetables can be used instead of celery.
Reviews (1015)


12 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Jessica
this was really delicious. i kind of just added the amounts i wanted of the different ingredients. i added some extra lemon, not quite a whole stalk of celery, and less than a fourth of an onion. im so glad i added less onion! i also added a tiny bit more mayo, and cooked the beans a little before mashing them. i wish i would have put it in a food processor to make it more smooth. but it was surprisingly delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: katem1983
i love this recipe. it is always a go to for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: kristin
This is such a good recipe!! I did add about 1tsp of Nori (seaweed) flakes to give it a little bit more "tuna" flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Valentina
I tweeked it...sorry. Used veg. oil and fresh squeezed lemon juice instead of mayo and left out celery. Added chopped green onions then pureed it with the seasonings including garlic. Delicious. Used with with grilled shishkebobs. (Reminded us of hummus.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: A. Schlueter
I can't believe I haven't reviewed this recipe yet. It has become a regular in my arsenal over the past few months. I've used it for appetizers on crackers, for sandwiches, in pitas and in flour tortillas for a wrap. The only thing I change is that I add a bit of finely chopped garlic--seemed to be the only thing it was missing. My meat-loving, veggie-hating roommate fondly calls it a "more sophisticated hummus" and I'm pretty sure my other vegetarian roommate sneaks spoonfuls out of the fridge. Bottom line: LOVE IT. Thanks so much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Kelli Anne
This recipe sure makes me wish I owned a food processor. I think I would have liked this a bit better if it had be smoother. I added some curry and garlic and it turned out really good! I am glad to have a healthy filling like this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: MORGEN442
I really liked this simple recipe. I have had something like this once before at a sandwich place years ago. It's basically hummus with mayo instead of olive oil. I made it into a mock tuna salad and put it on white bread with lettuce and sprouts and pickles. It was great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: pascale michelle
eh, this was okay. quick and filling but i wasn't too crazy about the seasonings. i didn't have a lot of the things so i used onion, garlic, tomato, dill pickles, basil, salt & pepper all mixed together. i think making it into better tasting hummus would've been a better option.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Samantha
This was fabulous! I am big on dill and actually added a little extra after following the recipe. I left out the onions (not a big fan) and served on homemade toasted wheat bread with alfalfa sprouts, red leaf lettuce, Cabot cheddar cheese and carrots. I highly recommend this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Barb Banbury
I just didn't like this as much as I had hoped I would. It wasn't bad, just didn't love it. It reminded me of hummus and with bread it was just too tasteless.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes