My Reviews (1,015)

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Spread

Serve on crusty wholemeal rolls or pita bread with lettuce and tomato. Other raw vegetables can be used instead of celery.
Reviews (1015)


24 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Babzil
I'm in love with this. I made it last night and let it sit in the fridge for a day, that may have helped. Tonight I warmed some Turkish flatbread in the oven, spread the chickpea filling on it generously, threw some halved cherry tomatoes and thin slices of cucumber on and drizzled with a bit of light yoghurt. Then wrapped it all up burrito-style. After the first bite I thought it was a nice 4 star spread, but it kept tasting better and better with each bite. Now I am finding it hard no to attack the leftovers with a spoon and eat up the whole lot. So good. Wonderful texture, the dill works great (esecially with the salad and yoghurt) and its so healthy. Fingerlicking good. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Diana S.
My vegetarian sister taught me to make this several years ago. It's a great sandwich filling and also tastes delicious as a filling for stuffed tomatoes (very pretty topped with fresh parsley). I make mine in the food processor and always add a dash of Tabasco to it. We've also made it with Dijon mustard replacing the lemon juice... very versatile and yummy recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Brooke Elizabeth
WOW!!! This was fantastic!!! I am so glad I finally tried this recipe, because it was perfect for a light summer dinner. I omitted the celery (personal preference) and used less onions. I used fat free mayo, no sugar added relish, and the dill weed and lemon were perfect!! mashing the chickpeas took some time (I tried using a mixer... not the best idea. There were chickpeas firing everywhere!) but it was all well worth it! We used it to fill pitas, along with romaine and tomato slices. Thanks so much for the great recipe!! With 3 vegetarians and 3 non-veg, we all agreeded it was simply amazing!!! My Grandmother didn't even realize it wasn't tuna!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
This was pretty good. I did add one large chopped garlic dill, a teaspoon garlic powder and one chopped organic hard boiled egg. I did not use the whole onion, just a few green onions. My littlest loved this, too, believe it or not. I was shocked. I spread his on Dave's Killer Bread but I had mine spread on cucumber slices. NOTE: I used olive oil mayonnaise and I did need an extra tablespoon. Next time, I might add a little dijon and a few shakes Frank's Hot Sauce. I also used organic garbanzo beans.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: swtrading7
WOW is the only word that describes this sandwich. This was delicious. It was so good that I was eating it straight out of the bowl. I served this filling on a toasted whole wheat pita with lettuce and tomato. To keep the chick peas moist, just add a few TB of the liquid in the can along with your mayonnaise. Mine was very moist by doing this. Thank you for offering this healthy alternative.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
Heather, this was SO good! Threw the beans into my food processor, added a tad more lemon and lots of garlic. I sliced whole wheat pitas into triangles, baked them in the oven until nice and crispy and used them as a dipping device for the wonderful bean mixture! Incredible and thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: kmtod1
Super healthful and a great alternative to tuna fish or egg salad. I served it with leaves of romaine lettuce and tomato, to make lettuce wraps. I thought the lemon juice was a bit overpowering, next time I might halve it. I will also add some chopped carrot and garlic powder and maybe sub green onion for regular onion, just for more color.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Melanie b
This is pretty tasty for someone who eats hummus almost every single day. Seriously. I added lots of garlic and about a half cup of salsa. Tasty!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: gyngerT
My husband and I really enjoyed this. We are always looking for healthy low-fat alternatives. I added some non-fat sour cream to make it more spreadable. It was good on a pita with some crunchy dill pickles. Thanks Heather
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 May 2000
Reviewed by: ARACHNE4
This is a wonderful substitute for peanut butter! I keep some in the fridge for a quick snack to spread on crackers, veggies or bread!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes