My Reviews (23)

Avocado Nori Rolls

Great as snacks at a party or as part of a larger feast, nori rolls are not hard to make with a bamboo roller. These are filled with avocado, tofu and cucumber.
Reviews (23)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
icesx said:
Used different ingredients. This recipe is just EXCELLENT! It was my first time making any kind of sushi and I was very happy with the results. I am a vegan, so I substituted brown rice syrup for the honey and I also used short-grain brown rice. I will definitely make this again!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: A cook from AB.
Pretty good. But please, don't rinse your rice! Sushi rice is supposed to be sticky! That's like a Japanese person recommending that you leave the baking powder out of your biscuits, so "they're not too fluffy" !!!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: AUNT MAMIE
Maybe I'm just not a sushi person, but I couldn't stand this recipe. The nori rolled well and the tofu marinade was tasty, but other than that, I had to throw out the entire batch. The rice was too sticky and sour, and my house smelled like fish for days. Don't be discouraged by my review though, maybe if you like sushi, you'll like this.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: skins_in_the_kitchen
perfect recipe to get me over my fear of making sushi! colourful, flavourful and easy. looks beautiful too. made with crabmeat and tamari sauce. PLEASE dont forget to serve with pickled ginger! tasty!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: TUNISIANSWIFE
This was my first time making and eating nori rolls...it was a lot of fun! But, I've found I'm not too keen on nori. That aside, I think anyone enjoying nori would like this recipe. Although the rice vinegar also seemed a little strong. I might suggest the newbie forego the rice vinegar for the first bite. Fun recipe!
 
20 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: CPGLASS
This recipe is just EXCELLENT! It was my first time making any kind of sushi and I was very happy with the results. I am a vegan, so I substituted brown rice syrup for the honey and I also used short-grain brown rice. I will definitely make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: Sara
Pretty good. But please, don't rinse your rice! Sushi rice is supposed to be sticky! That's like a Japanese person recommending that you leave the baking powder out of your biscuits, so "they're not too fluffy" !!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Mar
There are soy sushi wrappers available for people who don't like the taste of nori. You can find them in asian stores sometimes and online (amazon.com has some).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jul 2013
Reviewed by: NanaMay
To the person who said not to wash your rice: Japanese always wash their rice (multiple times) as sushi rice is not supposed to be "sticky" but holds together just enough for preparing the recipe. Also, real sushi rice is a mixture of rice combined with seasoned rice vinegar before it is spread over the nori which gives it it's consistency for sushi. This is OK for an "Americanized" version of sushi.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: MENMYTEDDY13
It just wasn't for me. My husband said if I had ever tried and liked real sushi I would have liked it, he thought it was good and authentic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes