My Reviews (180)

Vegan Three Bean Salad

This recipe was given to me by a vegan friend I had at uni. Feel free to experiment with different beans.
Reviews (180)


Comment:
16 Oct 2009
Aurajin said:
For you information, vegans definitely do not eat honey. Let me explain: We consider it cruel as the bees make it for their own dietary needs, that is to feed their hives and sustain their young. The production of honey from a single bee over its entire lifetime is only one-twelfth of a teaspoon! So each tablespoon of honey represents the workload of thirty six bees!! Furthermore, to obtain the honey, the bees are smoked out of their hives, which goes straight into their eyes and respiratory system. Bees are killed in this process. Please remove the vegan label or adjust your recipe accordingly.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
MARKCALVIN said:
Used different ingredients. This is the best bean salad recipe I've tried in a very long time. I made a couple of substitutions - I used 2 Tbsp. of red onion for crunch instead of celery and then omitted the onion powder. I also substituted 1 lg. clove of garlic for garlic powder and added 1 tsp. of chopped chives. The dressing is perfect; not too sweet, just the right tang and the cayenne adds just the right amount of heat. This has definitely become my favourite.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Karen said:
Something else. When I first made this recipe, my husband and I didn't like it too much. But something told us to try again, and it was a huge success. Here's how we made a recipe that we liked (and so did our family): 1. Cut the celery into small pieces and use two sticks instead of the one it calls for (this way, every bite has crunch) 2. We usually prefer spring onions over red, white, yellow, etc. But in this case, we found that the extra crunch added by these varieties are essential. We used white onions instead of green, and that made a world of difference. Make sure to mince or dice very small; again, to get some onion in every bite. Eliminate the onion powder. 3. It was too vinegar-y for our taste, so we cut the vinegar down to 1/2 cup and that yielded a better balance with the oil. 4. Use olive oil, not veg oil 5. Use real minced garlic instead of garlic powder 6. Add salt 7. store the salad in tupperware that you can flip upside down, without leakage. Rotate it at least twice during the marination process. 8. After the salad has had a chance to marinate over night, drain off the excess dressing; otherwise the beans at the bottom will start to degrade. This sounds like more work than it is, and trust me the result is well worth it!
 
23 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: AngieW
Brilliant recipe, I tripled the beans and roughly doubled the other ingrediants for a bbq for 50 people. What a hit!! I have made it several times since and can't tell you exactly what the mix was, but i figure if I like the taste of the dressing, the end result will be good too. This one is a keeper !!!!!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
QUASINAUGHT said:
Used different ingredients. I would rate this 6 stars = "can it get any better?" This recipe is definitely a "keeper" I made this yesterday with a few changes and got rave reviews from my friends. Substituted lima beansfor chick peas, medium sweet onion sliced thin for the green onions, medium green capsicum chopped for the celery, olive oil instead of veggie oil and 1 clove garlic pressed for the powder. Didn't use onion powder or cayenne pepper. I would recommend to refrigerate it for at least 4 hours and flipping it over or stirring it several times while marinating, but overnite would be even better.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
KEKNIPFER said:
Used different ingredients. Very tasty dressing to this salad. I added coriander, radishes, and green capsicum. I also used fresh green beans instead of canned for added freshness and crunch. I made this salad for 2 separate dinner guests and both loved it.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: CDNRUNREH
A very good bean salad. Many are too strong and pickle-y, but the dressing in this one is just right!
 
23 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Burgundy
When I first made this recipe, my husband and I didn't like it too much. But something told us to try again, and it was a huge success. Here's how we made a recipe that we liked (and so did our family): 1. Cut the celery into small pieces and use two sticks instead of the one it calls for (this way, every bite has crunch) 2. We usually prefer green onions over red, white, yellow, etc. But in this case, we found that the extra crunch added by these varieties are essential. We used white onions instead of green, and that made a world of difference. Make sure to mince or dice very small; again, to get some onion in every bite. Eliminate the onion powder. 3. It was too vinegar-y for our taste, so we cut the vinegar down to 1/2 cup and that yielded a better balance with the oil. 4. Use olive oil, not veg oil 5. Use real minced garlic instead of garlic powder 6. Add salt 7. store the salad in tupperware that you can flip upside down, without leakage. Rotate it at least twice during the marination process. 8. After the salad has had a chance to marinate over night, drain off the excess dressing; otherwise the beans at the bottom will start to degrade. This sounds like more work than it is, and trust me the result is well worth it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: TJKEMICK
This is the best bean salad recipe I've tried in a very long time. I made a couple of substitutions - I used 2 Tbsp. of red onion for crunch instead of celery and then omitted the onion powder. I also substituted 1 lg. clove of garlic for garlic powder and added 1 tsp. of chopped chives. The dressing is perfect; not too sweet, just the right tang and the cayenne adds just the right amount of heat. This has definitely become my favorite.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: JennieGal
I would rate this 6 stars = "can it get any better?" This recipe is definitely a "keeper" I made this yesterday with a few changes and got rave reviews from my friends. Substituted lima for garbanzo, medium sweet onion sliced thin for the green onions, medium green pepper chopped for the celery, olive oil instead of veggie oil and 1 clove garlic pressed for the powder. Didn't use onion powder or cayenne pepper. I would recommend to refrigerate it for at least 4 hours and flipping it over or stirring it several times while marinating, but overnite would be even better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes