My Reviews (106)

Black Bean Pineapple Salsa

Spicy, sweet, colorful and delicious - serve as a dip with tortilla crisps, or as a topping for barbecued meats and fish.
Reviews (106)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Peggy said:
Used different ingredients. Pretty good! I've made this exactly a few times, but have to say a few mods. made it even better. Here are my changes: -**Use only about 1/2 to 3/4 amount of suggested beans, otherwise it gets to be rather beany tasting and overpowers other flavours. -I don't like green capsicums, so I just use red and yellow. It's glorious. -Make sure to use fresh pineapple--cut pineapple up and leave in the fridge for a while before serving. This way it drains a bit and you can use the excess juice in addition to the OJ. -I also add fresh mango and a five or so baby tomatoes. -also very nice on crackers
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: GARDNER79
This is the best recipe!!! It is a really great summer dish and has a nice fresh test. Make sure that you only try this recipe if you like coriander and cumin...it really comes through. I've also found that canned pineapples will work if you are unable to get fresh. This also tastes great over greens, the possibilities are endless.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: TUNISIANSWIFE
My husband and I loved this salsa. I served it on grilled jerk chicken and it was wonderful.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Esmee
I absolutely loved it. Outstanding! I didn't change one bit and it turned out perfect. When I was buying mangos, they only had the not-so-ripe ones and it actually turned out better as the pieces weren't mushy. Enjoy!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: MOTTSBELA
I had this with caribbean-marinated chicken-it was excellent! The flavours blend together extremely well and compliment each other.
 
17 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Jennifer Juniper
Pretty good! I've made this exactly a few times, but have to say a few mods. made it even better. Here are my changes: -**Use only about 1/2 to 3/4 amount of suggested beans, otherwise it gets to be rather beany tasting and overpowers other flavors. -I don't like green peppers, so I just use red and yellow. It's glorious. -Make sure to use fresh pineapple--cut pineapple up and leave in the fridge for a while before serving. This way it drains a bit and you can use the excess juice in addition to the OJ. -I also add fresh mango and a five or so baby tomatoes. -also very nice on crackers
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jun 2004
This is the best recipe!!! It is a really great summer dish and has a nice fresh test. Make sure that you only try this recipe if you like cilantro and cumin...it really comes through. I've also found that canned pineapples will work if you are unable to get fresh. This also tastes great over greens, the possibilities are endless.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: BlackDog10
I love this - it is crunchy, sweet, spicy - like a CIRCUS IN YOUR MOUTH!! I make a double batch every time I make it. I love cilantro so I usually double the amount and kick up the cumin a bit, too. This is great as a side salad or for chip-dipping. We also roll it up in tortillas with seasoned meat. I've made it several times and have even tried with mango instead of pineapple which is also SO good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 May 2011
Reviewed by: Leah24
This was fantastic! I found this recipe on my allrecipes app on my phone and had to login to review it! I did add some fresh lime juice, but kept everything else the same. I could eat this by itself, and did while my chicken was cooking. It is so light and fresh and crisp and tart and sweet! My husband tasted it and immediately scooped some in a bowl to eat with chips as an appetizer. This is definitely something to serve for Cinco de Mayo, for guests, or just as a light and satisfying complement to a meal. Honestly, if I was a vegetarian, I would probably eat this by the bowlful! But I do have to say, the lime juice is what made it perfect to me. I read the recipe four times because I thought for sure there should be lime juice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: J Schannep
I made this salsa for a Hawaiian themed party and it was a big hit. Lime flavored tortillas are excellent with it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes