My Reviews (41)

Sweet Wholemeal Oat Bread

Sweetened with treacle or golden syrup, this amazing wholemeal oat bread tastes sinful if eaten hot buttered and still warm. Excellent for company.
Reviews (41)


14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: MACKALLEN
I got 3 large loaves and one mini loaf. The bread is light and fluffy and tastes really good. This would make a good sandwich bread. It's pretty easy to make too; you just have to plan ahead a bit.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: IRISHEYESMARGY01
This bread was wonderful. Making it and letting it sit overnight was great. It was quick to put together in the morning. You need a very large bowl to have it sit over night. It really rises and needs lots of room. It is really a delicious bread.
 
Comment:
14 Jul 2008
Lys said:
Something else. Great bread! Very smooth texture. I was very worried that it would be dense, but despite appearances, it was light and fluffy. Rose very well. It only took 3 hours to rise and then I had to take it out of the refrigerator because it was getting too big. I would advise letting it rise on a baking tray... there is no way it would have been contained in a bowl. Wonderful flavour. NOTE: The author does not recommend cooking time... this was done for me in 35 minutes.
 
Comment:
14 Jul 2008
Jenn said:
Something else. This bread was really good. The slow-rising in the refrigerator didn't work so well, so I took the bread dough out and it rose beautifully.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: breadlover
The best oat bread I have made! I made it into two large sandwich bread loaves. The result a very soft, light, well textured sandwich bread.
 
04 May 2008
Reviewed by: MommaBear
I've made this recipe twice, the first time I followed instructions and it was really good, but after a few tweaks it was GREAT! I used half all-purpose flour and half whole wheat, and I used 3/4 cup rolled oats and 1/2 cup of steel cut oats for more texture. I also used slightly less molassas and substituted honey instead. DELICIOUS!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Lys
Great bread! Very smooth texture. I was very worried that it would be dense, but despite appearances, it was light and fluffy. Rose very well. It only took 3 hours to rise and then I had to take it out of the fridge because it was getting too big. I would advise letting it rise on a cookie sheet... there is no way it would have been contained in a bowl. Wonderful flavor. Quick oats worked as well as any. NOTE: The author does not recommend cooking time... this was done for me in 35 minutes. VERY HAPPY WITH THIS.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: IRISHEYESMARGY01
This bread was wonderful. Making it and letting it sit overnight was great. It was quick to put together in the morning. You need a very large bowl to have it sit over night. It really rises and needs lots of room. It is really a delicious bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: breadlover
The best oatmeal bread I have made! Based on an earlier review I was leary about the amount of molases so I went 50/50 molases and honey. To my taste the result was perfect. I made it into two very large sandwich bread loaves. The result a very soft, light, well textured sandwich bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Muffinmom
Delicious bread, and this recipe is very adaptable! I like true whole-grain bread, so I only used one cup of white flour. Other than that I used a mixture of wheat flour, the oats, rye flour, and flaxseed meal. I also went 50/50 on molasses and honey. The result is a nice tender crumb, great for toast, and the overnight directions make this very easy!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes