My Reviews (18)

Roast Goose with Apple and Wild Rice Stuffing

For a real Christmas centerpiece, try this roast goose stuffed with a mixture of wild rice, toasted hazelnuts and apple.
Reviews (18)


15 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: FLORIDAGAL
I made this goose for Christmas dinner (plus a duck) to serve 6 adults. While the goose turned out tasty and terrific, the stuffing was a bit greasy. However, I had extra stuffing that I could not fit into the cavity and I had put this into a casserole dish and heated it prior to dinner. This is a better option as it is not so greasy and you can still present it with the meal. Simple recipe but tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: Patti
My husband made this for Thanksgiving and it turned out great. The goose was very moist.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: MonkeyHawk
I usually make "dressing" instead of "stuffing. I goose just renders too much fat. I roast the bird on a rack and stuff it with a couple of quartered apples. I discard the apples but they soak up a lot of goose grease. Turkey comes with my grandmother's cornbread/sage dressing. I do a wild rice dressing, in another dish, to go with goose.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: DUTCHCOOK
Used this at Christmas as a Turkey filling, was very good. Great for people with wheat allergy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Aislynne Edwards
I made the stuffing for this recipe last christmas eve (2005) and I loved it. It had great flavor and texture and was a great alternative to the tradional stuffing. I took the left overs to a party and I don't know how well it was recieved.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Margaret
wonderful new taste. everyone loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: food4me
not a hit with my family
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: STITH1
i like this very much. the wild rice was great
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Anna Hudson
We made this for Xmas and it was so good!! I love the stuffing!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: HOLLYROY
substituted the hazelnuts for almonds, and this was great, and goose for capon. I cooked the rice al dente and this allowed it to soak in the flavour. A big hit with my picky relatives!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes